LOGIN
Salt and Light Photography

Salt and Light Photography

Visit Us On:
Kansas City, MO

Salt and Light Photography

4.9
out of 5.0

Quality of Service

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Professionalism

4.9

Value

4.9

Flexibility

4.9
Salt and Light Photography
Our experience as active-duty military
(March 11, 2017 at 6:33 PM)
1.6 Emily Crews
by

Emily

I am writing this review to share my honest experience as a bride-to-be marrying into the military. I will not say anything that isn’t true or tell other couples what to decide. I will simply share my experience in the hopes that other active duty military couples do not sign any contract with any vendor without discussing what will happen in the event of deployment. We learned this the hard way. Salt and Light did a great job at my sister’s wedding, which is why I chose them. I was very excited to work with them and they seemed amiable and flexible. They offered a military discount as well as a discount for paying in full, so I did not hesitate to sign the contract back in October. In January, my fiancé told me he would be deploying and we’d have to change our wedding date. This was pretty devastating, as I had already made many plans and was also set to move up to his duty station in Alaska after the wedding. When my fiancé called Austin to inform him of the deployment, Austin said he would try to find a photographer to sublet and would do everything to help us out since they had our new date booked already. I was not too worried. The very next day, my fiancé and I received an email from Austin saying he called around for the past twelve hours but thought it would be in our best interest to start over with a new photographer. He said since it was past the cancellation date of nine months out to receive a 40% refund, he could not give us back anymore than $400, which was the material cost of our wedding. Yes, it does say in the contract that the date must be cancelled no less than nine months out to receive a 40% refund. Yes, I did sign this contract. My fiancé informed them the first week in January; our wedding was originally set for the second week in August. I have talked to many of my family and friends, and they all find it hard to believe a photographer would have trouble booking another summer wedding with this much notice. My fiancé and I did not cancel “super close.” We contacted our vendors as soon as we knew of the deployment. It says in the “al a carte” section of Salt & Light’s book that an engagement shoot is valued at $450 (which we got, and the photos are beautiful). The contract I signed was for $2,847.50. This means even with the $400 refund, we lost $1,997.50 for cancelling the August date at the beginning of January. My fiancé said he would call them and try to figure something else out, as our wedding budget is not big enough to take that hit; finances are tight. My fiancé found another much less expensive photographer and proposed to Austin that he sublet with this photographer. My fiancé gave a list of costs and told them they would still come out $1,000 ahead and still have our original wedding date free. Austin said no, this would be taking money from his business. If my fiancé were an enlisted soldier, this amount would equal about 10% of his yearly income. Austin would stick with the contract, no matter the circumstances. One would think that if another couple took the original time/date slot it would allow for more of a refund; it does not. Our other vendors were willing to rewrite our contracts after hearing of the deployment orders, and vendors I have signed with since then have been willing to add in a military clause. I do understand I had signed a contract with Salt & Light, which is why I did nothing. It has been devastating enough to learn my soon-to-be husband will deploy to a combat zone, added to that is the difficulty in adjusting plans and cutting costs to plan for a new date. Once again, I am simply sharing my honest experience. Salt & Light takes beautiful photos, but military couples should be forewarned of this, and be cautious with all wedding-related businesses. I only wish I could have read a review such as this earlier.
Salt and Light Photography
Best of the best photographers!
(December 15, 2015 at 2:20 PM)
5 Katy Cox
by

Katy

Austin and Rachel are organized, professional, and so easy to work with. They made me feel at ease going into the big day! The pictures captured all of the very special moments with friends and family. I seriously could not have asked for better people to be part of my wedding! And the wedding album is the icing on the cake, perfect!!
Salt and Light Photography
Incredible Experience
(November 25, 2015 at 10:43 PM)
5 Brett Lewis
by

Brett

Rachel and Austin did our wedding back in June of 2013 and were absolutely fantastic! They were both a joy to be around and the pictures turned out amazing and were exactly what we wanted. Their business thrives because they invest in their relationships with their clients and it was truly a blessing to have them be a part of our special day. We cannot thank them enough!
Salt and Light Photography
Love Salt & Light Photography
(November 24, 2015 at 11:30 PM)
5 Luminita Curley
by

Luminita

Firstly I wasn't born and raised here. My husband is originally from here and planing a wedding was kind of difficult, not knowing who to go with. I did some research and heard about them through word of mouth. I've had other meetings with photographers and was a bit discourage with picking the right photographers. After we first met them I knew to go with them. I had a gut feeling that they were the ones to go with. They were very professional and related on a personal level which was nice. I was very impressed with how accomplished they are and how they work with you. They took us out to dinner to get to know us and talked about our wants and needs. They made a schedule on when and where we should be at this time. They both went the extra mile and I am ever so greatful for, because the pictures are stunning! I am able to relive my wedding day over and over again because of their work. I would highly recommend them over and over again.
Salt and Light Photography
Thank you, Austin and Rachel!
(November 18, 2015 at 4:26 PM)
5 Joshua Cain
by

Joshua

Austin and Rachel played an absolutely pivotal role in making every aspect of our wedding day perfect. Looking back my wife and I are certain that we could not have had the best day of our lives without the help of these two extraordinary people. We first met with Austin and Rachel for coffee to casually get to know one another, as well as discuss our upcoming wedding. As the conversation progressed my wife and I became thoroughly convinced that no other company could match the sense of professionalism, dedication, character, and most of all comfort during the wedding process. We knew in our hearts that these were genuine people that would do their absolute best to help us, and our family and friends, make our wedding perfect. There are many moving parts and intricate details involved with planning and executing each couple's 'perfect' wedding. All of the tasks, scheduling, family dynamics, and other variables can become a lot to juggle. Austin and Rachel transcend their role as photographers to take care of whatever is necessary to make the entire process as smooth and efficient as possible. Once the vows have been read and the celebration fades, the couples who work with Austin and Rachel will know that Salt and Light Photography was the right choice. They will exceed your expectations and forge a friendship that will last well beyond the wedding day.
Salt and Light Photography
The best photographers!
(November 18, 2015 at 9:03 AM)
5 Daniel Winter
by

Daniel

I am so thankful for Austin and Rachel! Their professionalism is outstanding! We were one of their first weddings and we could not be happier! If you looking for a professional photographer that will handle all the details and you won't have to think about anything, look no further! It is evident that they take pride in their work, and you are more than just a client. Their authenticity is refreshing!
Salt and Light Photography
Wonderful team
(November 17, 2015 at 2:27 PM)
5 Annette Vashaw
by

Annette

Rachel & Austin did a wonderful job with our wedding! Beautiful wedding pictures! We Loved their professionalism and attitude! It was a joy working with them! We Highly recommend! :)
Salt and Light Photography
Professionals!
(November 17, 2015 at 1:11 PM)
5 Nathan Morris
by

Nathan

Austin and Rachel are amazing photographers and even better people. They really take a personal note in their work and it shows in the results. Our pictures are gorgeous and it was a blast hanging out with Austin before and during the wedding. He did a great job of fitting in with the guys seeming more like a friend making it easy to be yourself. We have had many comments on how good our pictures turned out and are very happy we went with Salt and Light! I definitely recommend them to any couple looking for a next level wedding photographer.
Salt and Light Photography
So helpful
(November 17, 2015 at 12:55 PM)
5 Rachel Johnson
by

Rachel

These people were a life saver!! In such a stressful day they took care of so much for me, I had all faith in them! They are reliable professional and the nicest people you will ever meet, they will make sure you get all the pictures you want and not waste times that you dont! LOVEEEE!!!
Salt and Light Photography
Amazing!
(July 2, 2015 at 5:05 PM)
5 Caitlin Couture
by

Caitlin

Salt and Light Photography did an excellent job on our photos! They are very professional, deliver excellent quality, are very reasonably prices, and are also super friendly! I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a wedding photographer.
Salt and Light Photography
Previous Bride
(June 20, 2015 at 5:24 PM)
5 Renee Martin
by

Renee

I love Rachel and Austin. They are very kind and personable. They respect their clients and try to give them the best experience possible by being flexible and getting their photos edited and returned in a timely fashion. They are also a great team. Their gifts and styles compliment each other very well, making Salt and Light an awesome photography company to work with!
Salt and Light Photography
Seriously the best!
(June 16, 2015 at 3:55 PM)
5 Randi Minear
by

Randi

Rachel and Austin were a huge blessing not only to my wedding, but the entire wedding planning process. From day one Rachel was there to help with all aspects of planning, most of which had nothing to do with photography. They go above and beyond in everything they do from taking us out to dinner to get to know them better, helping find other vendors to use on our wedding day and even helping me pick out outfits for my engagement pictures. I was able to customize my photography package for all of my needs and Rachel was always there to answer my eight thousand questions that I had on a daily basis. I could not have asked for better people to be there for me on my special day. This photography couple not only has my business for life, but also my friendship and I would recommend them to anyone. Now that we are expecting our first child, I can not wait to work with them again!
Salt and Light Photography
love love love love
(February 5, 2015 at 2:32 PM)
5 Carrie Grigery
by

Carrie

Rachel and Austin were the best thing about our wedding. I trusted everything they suggested and had no worry in the world when it came to our pictures. I would have redone some things differently during the planning process but one thing that I would have never chosen differently was the fact that they were our photographers. They hold so much responsibility for taking on the pictures you will have and keep for the rest of your lives--and they do it so gracefully and make every dollar worth it. I will definitely use them in the future for different pictures and we live a few hours from them! The product and quality they are able to produce is like none other. We have so many beautiful pictures, our house looks like a shrine of me and my husband. Love them so much!
Salt and Light Photography
Salt and Light (and Family)
(February 2, 2015 at 9:43 PM)
5 Patrick Collins
by

Patrick

My wife (Charlotte) covered everything in her review. However, I would like to add some of my own thoughts. We recently saw Austin and Rachel at their bridal appreciation party, and Austin said something that really hit home (paraphrased below). Think about your photographers this way: Who do you invite to your wedding? Your family, friends, neighbors, teachers, etc. All people who have had some form of influence on your life over MANY years. Yet you select your photographers on a whim, and by comparison they have not known you as log as your esteemed guests have. You expect these people to capture the perfect moments and deliver an outstanding final product. This is what sets Salt and Light apart from everyone else. They get to know you on many levels, have dinner with you, help you, and respect you. After our wedding, I honestly consider Austin and Rachel family now. My wife even quilted a baby blanket for their beautiful daughter as a thank you for being such great people and photographers. These are people you will ad as friends on Facebook, and the have a genuine interest in their lives (as they yours). Salt and Light is the investment time and time again.
Salt and Light Photography
The best investment you can make
(February 2, 2015 at 9:30 PM)
5 Charlotte Collins
by

Charlotte

Rachel and Austin are some of the most dedicated, professional, and personable photographers out there . Not only will they take beautiful photos, they will also assist you in outlining your day and help make your vision a reality. Salt & Light is the best investment you can make. My husband and I will continue to use them to photograph the significant moments in our lives, and greatly look forward to doing so too. You will be nothing short of ecstatic with everything they do.
Salt and Light Photography
5 Stars!
(January 21, 2015 at 10:33 PM)
5 Heather Dains
by

Heather

Austin and Rachel are wonderful people and wonderful photographers! We had never met them before our first consultation and they made us feel so comfortable from the very start. They even helped us with the planning and Rachel helped develop a specific timeline for the wedding day to make sure we were 100% comfortable and stress-free! We not only gained beautiful engagement and wedding pictures (which we got the copyrights to) but great friends in Austin and Rachel. We highly recommend them!
Salt and Light Photography
Beautiful!
(January 21, 2015 at 12:10 PM)
5 Kristin Hall
by

Kristin

We love Salt and Light! Austin and Rachel are beautiful people, and take beautiful photos! They photographed our wedding in September and we couldn't have been happier with our photos and our experience! I also love how Austin and Rachel took the time to get to know us before the wedding. They guided us through the planning process and made everything so comfortable. We used Salt and Light for our wedding photos, engagement photos, and a boudoir shoot! I would recommend them to anyone. Use Salt and Light and you won't be disappointed!
Salt and Light Photography
best out there
(January 21, 2015 at 10:44 AM)
5 Corey Hall
by

Corey

Austin and Rachel are amazing. We couldn't have asked for anyone better. They were very professional and very friendly to say the least. Our pictures turned out absolutely amazing. I would recommend them to anyone looking to get pictures done.
Salt and Light Photography
Blessing to have a part of our wedding day
(January 19, 2015 at 7:36 PM)
5 Bryon Fuller
by

Bryon

Austin & Rachel couldn't have made our day go more smoothly. So happy we chose them to capture our wedding day!
Salt and Light Photography
Wonderful!
(January 15, 2015 at 5:25 PM)
5 Tiffany Oppermann
by

Tiffany

Rachel and Austin are a wonderful photographer team that captured my husband and I's big day perfectly. Rachel met with me ahead of time to work out details like a schedule for the day of that made it so easy to know what to expect and to communicate with our coordinator. I would recommend Salt and Light Photography to anyone who was looking for a photographer because of their excellent customer service, advice, and of course the amazing pictures that they produce. Absolutely no complaints here!
Salt and Light Photography
Best Memory Capture
(January 15, 2015 at 12:53 PM)
5 Sara Beckman
by

Sara

Rachel and Austin are....skilled! They somehow managed to take photos that were 100% natural and untouched, but that were the best versions of my husband and myself. These two were DEDICATED to us, our photos and our wedding day in every sense of the word. Salt and Light Photography are THE people you want photographing your life's most precious moments not only because they are skilled with a camera, but they share with you the joys you are experiencing. I cannot say enough positive things about Salt and Light Photography - meet them, you will understand.
Salt and Light Photography
perfection
(January 15, 2015 at 12:08 PM)
5 Adam Chiarelli
by

Adam

It was an incredible blessing to have Salt and Light Photography be apart of our incredible wedding day. It is one thing to take pictures and capture our perfect moments, but this husband and wife team transcended that and became a part of our perfect moments! It was amazing to see them just as passionate about our wedding day as we were. Professional, personal, and passionate. These are the essentials of a wedding day, in my opinion! They nailed every detail! And the actual pictures...flawless! Thank you Salt and Light for blessing us with you for our wedding!
Salt and Light Photography
Best of the best!
(January 14, 2015 at 8:40 PM)
5 Courtney Dorman
by

Courtney

Our wedding experience was a dream, largely in part because of our AMAZING photographers! From our initial meeting getting to know us and understanding the vision of our special day, Rachel and Austin made it so easy. It was just the right balance of guidance and execution on our special day that made our pictures and our experience more that we could have imagined. Their knowledge, compassion, guidance, and true love of helping couples on their special day is like no other!
Salt and Light Photography
Fantastic Pictures and People!
(July 24, 2014 at 6:33 PM)
5 Britney A.
by

Britney

The moment we met Austin and Rachel, we became friends. As they made it clear how interested they were in getting to know my Erik and me and hearing our love story, the more we knew they were the right photographers for us. Their images alone speak for themselves being bright, crisp and non pose-y. We wanted pictures that would capture our personalities, seem natural, and beautiful. They exceeded our expectations! Because this duo took the time to get to know us and invested in us, they were able to capture gorgeous photos and the ambiance of our wedding day perfectly!
Salt and Light Photography
Will use them again!!
(July 24, 2014 at 3:33 PM)
5 Jessica Squires
by

Jessica

The Holt's are awesome! They really do make you feel very comfortable every step of the way. Rachel and Austin go above and beyond to make sure you are taken care of and really get the photos you want. It is the little details in what they do that makes them unique and definitely a team to consider for any event. My husband and I were married this year in April! We used them for our engagement photos as well. I love how they do not over-edit their photos, when we looked back at our photos we really felt like we were back on the most perfect day. The photos were real and they made sure to get a photo of everything! They took the time to get to know us and really become our friends before the wedding as well and that made a huge difference when having them around for everything on our day. I know in the future I will want to use this wonderful husband and wife team again!
Salt and Light Photography
Top notch!!!
(July 24, 2014 at 3:00 PM)
5 Michelle Middleton
by

Michelle

Salt and Light Photography is one of a kind! From day one, Rachel and Austin were beyond helpful, organized, and professional. They hold integrity and their relationship with God in the highest regards. Meeting with them for the first time completely put my crazy bride brain at ease. They went above and beyond and helped us with some of our other planning! They gave there professional advice/input but never pressured anything on my husband and I. I would recommend Rachel and Austin to anyone! Their work is top notch and their passion for people is contagious!
Salt and Light Photography
Thank you
(July 23, 2014 at 4:26 PM)
5 Lauren Joe E.
by

Lauren Joe

We just wanted to say thank you for all that you did for our wedding! We are so glad that we were able to work with you on & in preparation for our big day. We absolutely love your work & are so happy that we have so many great pictures to help us remember our wedding for years to come! We love all of our pictures!
Salt and Light Photography
Incredible and Professional
(July 4, 2014 at 1:39 PM)
5 Garrett and Brooke Mueller
by

Garrett and Brooke

Salt and Light Photography was simply phenomenal. Not only do they take incredible pictures, but they are extremely professional. They are on top of everything and never miss a beat. They even use ear piece radios to communicate with each other throughout the wedding. Instead of having to run back and forth to each other to talk about what shots to get, they communicate clear across the venue to get a wide variety of beautiful shots. In addition to their professionalism and savvy, they also are great people to work with and their work is incredible. Hire Salt and Light for your wedding and/or anything else where you need photos taken!
Salt and Light Photography
Such A Blessing!
(February 25, 2014 at 6:32 PM)
5 Randi Minear
by

Randi

Rachel and Austin were a huge blessing not only to my wedding, but the entire wedding planning process. From day one Rachel was there to help with all aspects of planning, most of which had nothing to do with photography. They go above and beyond in everything they do from taking us out to dinner to get to know them better, helping find other vendors to use on our wedding day and even helping me pick out outfits for my engagement pictures. I was able to customize my photography package for all of my needs and Rachel was always there to answer my eight thousand questions that I had on a daily basis. I could not have asked for better people to be there for me on my special day. This photography couple not only has my business for life, but also my friendship and I would recommend them to anyone.
Salt and Light Photography
Mother of the Bride Gives Rave Review!
(February 24, 2013 at 11:18 PM)
5 Linda Sears
by

Linda

We could not have been more please with Rachel and her team as she photographed our daugher's wedding last week. The photos are gorgeous, unique, and just what the bride wanted. We were amazed at so many of the shots she took, because we never even noticed her being there during the ceremony! It takes talent, skill and a special touch to photograph a wedding and not be noticed. I was impressed with how thorough Rachel was, often checking her list of requested photos the bride and groom had sent her.
Salt and Light Photography
Stunning Photography!
(February 23, 2013 at 12:22 AM)
5 Katie Last Name
by

Katie

Rachel and her husband are really easy to work with. They make you feel SO comfortable from the moment you meet them. They have a lot of great ideas and know what will turn out to be a beautiful product. There is no stress working with these two! We had engagement photos taken and we really feel like they captured our personalities well! We would recommend them to anyone!
Salt and Light Photography
Top Notch
(January 26, 2013 at 10:33 AM)
5 Jessica Street
by

Jessica

This husband and wife photography team is both personable, and fun to be around. It was very important for us to find a photographer or photographers that we can relate to. It's such a great feeling to explain your "vision" and have the team totally get it, remember it, and run with it to deliver an awesome outcome. They make you feel like the star while putting you at ease in front of the camera. They are able to deliver amazing photos and they make it look easy! I highly recommend doing yourself a favor and booking Salt & Light Photography.
Salt and Light Photography
Top Notch
(January 26, 2013 at 10:33 AM)
5 Jessica Street
by

Jessica

This husband and wife photography team is both personable, and fun to be around. It was very important for us to find a photographer or photographers that we can relate to. It's such a great feeling to explain your "vision" and have the team totally get it, remember it, and run with it to deliver an awesome outcome. They make you feel like the star while putting you at ease in front of the camera. They are able to deliver amazing photos and they make it look easy! I highly recommend doing yourself a favor and booking Salt & Light Photography.
Salt and Light Photography
Amazing photographers!!
(December 8, 2012 at 10:28 PM)
5 Rebekah McDowell
by

Rebekah

Rachel and her husband did my wedding in October and they were absolutely amazing! They met all my wants. And worked non stop! They are worth the money you spend! I love them as people and the work they do! Their photos are GORGEOUS! I recommend them to everyone! I will always be going to them Everytime I need photos done! I absolutely love them!
Salt and Light Photography
Awesome photographer to work with!
(October 17, 2012 at 1:58 AM)
5 Sarah Dixon
by

Sarah

Chad and I were so delighted that Rachel was our photographer of choice for our engagement shots, and then again at our wedding. Her work is beautiful and fun and she made quality memories that will last a lifetime. I always say that your photographer is the most important choice you make on your wedding day because it will mainly be the only visual memory of your day. The great thing about Salt and Light Photography is not only is Rachel amazing, her prices are unbeatable. I would absolutely love to have our pictures taken again by her. Our only wish on our wedding day was that her now-husband had of been her assistant on our day (she had mentioned that he would be). They make a great team from what I see from the recent work. Oh! And that someone told Chad to take his glasses off, lol! Since they are transition lenses, he looks like he is wearing sunglasses in all of our outdoor shots. Kind of funny. :D Only huge thumbs up for Salt and Light Photography! You won't be disappointed!
Salt and Light Photography
Excellent
(October 8, 2012 at 12:14 AM)
5 Carrie Denham
by

Carrie

Our experience was fantastic! Photographer made us feel at ease. Cost was affordable for our budget &quality of photos very professional. Photographer has a talent for an artistic eye.
Salt and Light Photography
Personal, Professional, and Perfect Photos!
(October 4, 2012 at 1:02 PM)
5 Courtney Alderton
by

Courtney

All I can say is wow! I have gone to Salt and Light photography for all my photography needs and have never been let down. They go above and beyond and produce beautiful photography and cater to the needs of their clients. They got to know me, my husband and the style I wanted. Rachel was very personal and professional at the same time. I was always kept up to date on the process of my photos; there were never any surprises (except for a few free gifts!) I was impressed on how they treat their customers like friends and gave special attention to what their clients were looking for. I gave Salt and Light a long list of the photos I wanted taken on my wedding day and I was not let down! They really care about their clients! Not to mention, the hundreds of beautiful photos I have from them. All my friends (and even strangers) marvel over how awesome my wedding photos are! I get compliments over them all the time; and it was all thanks to Salt and Light! I will be going to them again for other photography needs and will always recommend them to other brides to be!
Salt and Light Photography
All I can say is WOW !!
(September 20, 2012 at 4:27 PM)
5 Gary Wellner
by

Gary

Great service, great quality. Went out of their way to take care of me in a pinch. Dont settle for anything less than Salt and Light. They make it real and they make it right !!
Salt and Light Photography
Beautiful wedding photos
(September 20, 2012 at 3:51 PM)
4.6 Matthew and Amy Sears
by

Matthew and Amy

Was very friendly and organized! We got our pictures soon after the wedding! Took some unique and beautiful shots! Highly recommend!
Salt and Light Photography
Great experience!
(September 20, 2012 at 3:32 PM)
5 Jenna Worthen
by

Jenna

The Salt and Light team is professional, prompt, timely, efficient, energetic and reliable! They make you feel confident and calm despite the (often times) chaos of a wedding! Highly recommend them for any event.
Salt and Light Photography
Best Wedding Photographer Hands Down!
(September 20, 2012 at 2:50 PM)
5 Daniel Winter
by

Daniel

Their Service was friendly and professional. The were a delight to have and the picutres, better than I had ever hoped for! Awesome, just Awesome!
Salt and Light Photography
salt and light photography
(August 21, 2012 at 10:42 AM)
5 Keely Gilbert
by

Keely

Rachel is absolutely amazing! I felt comfortable with her right away. Her photography is incredible and her heart for the Lord is beautiful. I would recommend her to anyone!
Salt and Light Photography
Great Photographer!
(August 7, 2012 at 4:17 PM)
5 Ryan Green
by

Ryan

I was really impressed with the free consultation. Salt and Light made us feel confident that we would have the photos we wanted, and definitely delivered. Rachel told us that she learned from her own wedding what photos that she would want to have, and also asked us for a list of ideas so that everything was covered. I would recommend Salt & Light to anyone with an occasion worth remembering.