LOGIN

Southern Gold Leaf Cakes

5
out of 5.0

Quality of Service

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Professionalism

5.0

Value

5.0

Flexibility

5.0
Southern Gold Leaf Cakes
Perfect cake! Beautiful and tasty
(October 2, 2013 at 5:37 PM)
5 Susan Clamp
by

Susan

Veronica sat down at my Mothers house with us, and while we sampled the flavors we were thinking of using, made sketches and notes about what we wanted. My Husband spends a lot of time in China and wanted a cake to reflect his love of the country. My Mom and I chose the flavors and frosting's. Veronica delivered a beautiful cake and helped serve it to our guests. I am looking forward to a smaller cake for our one year anniversary later this month. I would recommend her cakes for any occasion. Susan Clamp, Durham NC
Southern Gold Leaf Cakes
SGL is tops!
(January 8, 2013 at 5:11 PM)
5 Emily Dings
by

Emily

Our experience with Veronica at Southern Gold Leaf Cakes couldn't have been better. She was professional, flexible, and creative, and most importantly the cake was delicious and beautiful. She also made gluten-free/dairy-free cupcakes that were enjoyed by guests with allergies and many without! We loved our cake, which featured diamond tiers and the beading design on my wedding dress. Veronica's prices are also unbelievably reasonable. Five stars on everything!
Southern Gold Leaf Cakes
Delicious beautiful cakes
(January 2, 2013 at 5:12 PM)
5 Karen Smith
by

Karen

Veronica at Southern Gold Leaf makes cakes as delicious as they are beautiful. So many of our guests commented on how great the cake tasted...the best they ever had! Veronica is so easy to work with and does everything she can to make sure you love the final product. And her prices are definitely the best in the Triangle.
Southern Gold Leaf Cakes
Amazingly scrumptious and gorgeous wedding cake!
(October 2, 2012 at 5:52 PM)
5 Meg Yoshida
by

Meg

Veronica did an absolutely amazing job on our wedding cake. We generally knew what flavors we wanted, but didn't really have a vision for what it should look like. She was very attentive to our preferences, but provided suggestions and expertise when we had no direction (and we really appreciated this!). She talked things over with us, and worked her magic. The product was a work of art - a beautiful, delicate cake, that was honestly one of the most delicious things I have EVER tasted - completely melts in your mouth! We got sooooo many compliments on it as well. We would HIGHLY recommend her to anyone, as she was a absolute pleasure to work with and delivered an amazing cake. Thanks Veronica!
Southern Gold Leaf Cakes
Wedding Cake on April 23, 2011
(February 21, 2012 at 11:06 AM)
5 Tamara Swann
by

Tamara

My cake was awesome and the taste was terrific. I received a lot of comments from my guest on the taste and the design. I will recommend Southern Gold Leaf Cakes to anyone and I will use this company again.
Southern Gold Leaf Cakes
Fantastic!
(February 6, 2012 at 11:02 PM)
5 Sarah Funkhouser
by

Sarah

Veronica worked with us to create the perfect cake for our wedding. She met with us several times and always had something for us to try. She made an amazing grooms cake for our rehearsal dinner and a beautiful wedding cake. She was happy to do whatever we wanted and had some very creative ideas. Not only that, she charged a very reasonable price, especially compared to other vendors out there. I highly recommend her!
Southern Gold Leaf Cakes
Thank you!
(January 5, 2012 at 1:54 PM)
5 Kelly H
by

Kelly

Thanks so much for the wonderful cake! It was beautiful as well as delicious. We loved it. I will be sure to recommend you to friends.
Southern Gold Leaf Cakes
Creative, delicious cake cups!
(August 2, 2011 at 11:44 AM)
5 Anna Elliott
by

Anna

We LOVED the cake cups that Veronica created for us. She had not made anything like them before....we brought the idea to her and she ran with it! They turned out better than we could have imagined. It was a visually stunning and delicious display. Veronica's prices also were much better than other vendors we considered! Our guests liked being able to have a small serving and tasting both fantastic flavors we chose! We can't wait for our anniversary cake!
Southern Gold Leaf Cakes
Beautiful and Delicious
(July 21, 2011 at 2:54 PM)
5 Shelby Neal
by

Shelby

Thank you again for a very beautiful, delicious wedding cake! I never thought it would happen, but we did run out of cake - people loved it! We are looking forward to our anniversary tier!
Southern Gold Leaf Cakes
Everything we ever wanted
(July 21, 2011 at 2:48 PM)
5 Danielle Lavocat
by

Danielle

I know this is long over due, considering our wedding was 5 months ago, but better late than never. I wanted to write a little review about the cake Veronica and Southern Gold Leaf Cakes did for Paul's and my wedding on February 12, 2011. It's an opportunity for me to express how much we enjoyed you and the beautiful cake you made us! Paul and I were searching for someone to make our wedding cake for us it was a very frustrating time because we only had 3 months from the day we got engaged and the day of our wedding, so not only was it hard to find someone who was available but it was also hard to find someone affordable. Since we didnt have much time to save for our wedding we had to do everything on a budget, which was very hard to do because it seems when ever "wedding" is attached to any business it raises the price significantly! We were even so desperate that we considered a grocery store bought cake, which almost brought me to tears! And then I came across your website after finding "Flowers by Gary" and I was so pleased to see all of the beautiful cakes and the affordable prices! And after contacting you and meeting you in your home I was beyond pleased! It was an enjoyable experience tasting all of the different cakes and icings, and brainstorming how we wanted it to look. I knew I wanted to tie in red roses, since it was going to be a v-day wedding, but you knew that I didnt want to go overboard and that I wanted to keep it classic, and you nailed it! I was also worried about the cake looking too small, since we were only having 25 guest attend, but then you came up with the briliant idea of adding a false teir at the bottom to give the illusion of a bigger cake, which worked out perfectly! And we all know how stressful planning a wedding can be, but after we met and went over all of the details of the cake we were able to leave everything else up to you, so that was one less thing we had to worry about. All we had to do was tell you that our reception was going to be at Maggianos and you reassured us you would contact them and the cake would be waiting for us on the day of the wedding, and sure enough it was! Once we arrived to Maggianos and were escorted into our reception room, there was our beautiful wedding cake! I couldnt believe my eyes when I saw it, it was so gorgeous and was everything I ever wanted. But not only was it beautiful, it tasted amazing!! The redvelvet cake was so moist and the cream cheese icing paired so well with it! Us and our guest couldnt get enough of it! We were lucky enough to have a whole teir left over, which we were able to make last an entire week! Every night after dinner we would serve ourselves a peice and we were devestated when it was all gone, but we look very much foward to our anniversary cake! Which brings me to my last comment, I absolutly love that you dont make the bride and groom freeze the top tier for the anniversary cake, and that you offer to make it anytime the bride and groom want, because honestly who wants to eat a year old frozen wedding cake anyway? I think thats a very nice idea and Paul and I cant wait to eat our anniversary cake because with each bite it will makes us relive the best part of our wedding day!
Southern Gold Leaf Cakes
Custom made wedding cake
(October 28, 2010 at 10:06 AM)
5 Joane Buckner
by

Joane

Veronica met with my daughter and son in law months prior to the wedding. She brought a variety of cakes and icing flavors they were interested in for tasting along, with sketches of cake designs based on what the bride/bridegroom wanted. Then she guided them through "building" the cake that they wanted which included cake flavors, icings and the details of the cake design to create what they wanted. It was a delightful experience for the family. Veronica kept in touch as she said she would. On the wedding day, Veronica came and assembled the cake which was EXACTLY what they wanted and looked perfect with the other decorations. The bride/groom had selected 3 different cake flavors and icings and made sure to have some of each type. There was plenty cake left over which our family enjoyed for several days!
Southern Gold Leaf Cakes
a perfect cake!
(October 27, 2010 at 6:44 PM)
5 Marsha Ohayon
by

Marsha

Veronica and Southern Gold Leaf Cakes made the most beautiful, most delicious cake I could have imagined. She was very responsive in getting just the right flavor (amaretto pound cake) and just the right design. I got a work of art as well as a very tasty dessert. My good friend also surprised me with one of Veronica's cakes for the rehearsal dinner -- it was a very clever design that was also delicious. Southern Goldleaf Cakes is a small operation that will give you the personal attention that you deserve in planning your big day.