Vendors
Wedding Ideas
Photo Galleries
Events
Songs
Blog
Contact Us
Cancel
Vendors
Wedding Ideas
Photo Galleries
Bridal Shows
Songs
Blog
Contact Us
Search
Search For:
Vendor
Location
Events
Category
Radius
Search
Search
Bands & DJs
Beauty & Health
Bridal Registries
Cakes & Desserts
Catering & Bar
Ceremony Music
Ceremony Venues
Dance Lessons
Favors & Gifts
Flowers & Decor
Gowns, Dresses & Attire
Guest Accommodations
Home & Hearth
Honeymoon Venues
Invitations & Stationery
Jewelry & Accessories
Lighting & Rentals
Officiants
Photo Booths
Photography
Reception Venues
Rehearsal Dinners
Showers and Parties
Transportation
Travel
Unique Services
Videography
Wedding Planning
Search
Bridal Shows
Online Wedding Shows
Select
50 miles
25 miles
10 miles
5 miles
All
Superior Shores Resort

Superior Shores Resort

Share On:
Visit Us On:
Two Harbors, MN

Superior Shores Resort

4.9
out of 5.0

Quality of Service

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Professionalism

4.9

Value

4.9

Flexibility

5.0
Superior Shores Resort
Picturesque Lake Wedding
(August 7, 2017 at 3:13 PM)
4.6 Caralyn Kieper
by

Caralyn

My husband and I had an incredible wedding with family and friends at Superior Shores Resort. The VIEWS are the best, we walked the trails and skipped rocks on the beach with our wedding party and photographers before hand. The Northern MN weather cooperated, so we had a pretty perfect, sunny/some clouds, 70s weather day in June on the lake. The back drop of our ceremony was simply amazing - a nice rocky beach, white chairs, our own wood arbor, the lake and sunny/blue skies. We had a social hour on the lawn before heading into the resort hall for our reception. The lawn was filled with family/friends, beer filled kayaks, and bean bag toss. Then we danced the night away inside, didn't run out of food, and the drinks lasted up until the very end :) We snuck out for some 'perfect dusk lighting' pictures on the bridge over the creek, and smooches at the lake. And to top it all off our party continued at the bonfires on the lake after our time was up inside. We only stayed for a little while but we're told our family/friends all enjoyed the fire, each others company, the location, and someone even brought a guitar! My only word of warning would be to figure out the best mode of communication early on. Emailing was efficient, we always heard back with plenty of time, but we did find out that texting would've been best for our coordinator. Overall, wouldn't change anything for the world. Superior Shores was incredible and I highly recommend it to anyone for there wedding. Cheers! -- The Kiepers
Superior Shores Resort
The perfect place to get married
(July 20, 2017 at 3:53 PM)
5 Daniel Olson
by

Daniel

Jenna and her staff were great to work with. From check-in to check-out, our stay was perfect. Our ceremony was on the resort's beach and you could not ask for a more picturesque background. The banquet room is very spacious and provide plenty of room. The food and service was great!! If you are looking at getting married on the North Shore, then Superior Shores is a great choice. Their prices, accommodations, food and staff are great.
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort Wedding
(July 6, 2017 at 1:55 PM)
4.4 Rachel Pierce
by

Rachel

Our wedding at Superior Shores Resort was absolutely stunning. We have been told by a large amount of our wedding guests that our wedding was the most beautiful and most fun wedding that they have ever attended! With the mixture of the north shore nature for the ceremony and outdoor fun, yard games in the lawn, and renovated reception hall, Superior Shores was our perfect option for a perfect outdoor/indoor ceremony and reception.
Superior Shores Resort
Allowed us to have a unique experience
(May 2, 2017 at 3:15 PM)
5 Shawn Kinzel
by

Shawn

We booked off-season as we had a tight budget. Superior Shores was willing to work with us on fitting into our budget. We chose a late April, off-season date. We wanted a ceremony on the Lake (the Lodge is just off a very nice bay on Lake Superior) but knew due to the season, weather may not cooperate. We lucked out and had terrific weather and were able to the ceremony and reception we wanted. The venue provides lots of services and have a handy list of service providers for what they do not offer (like DJ, florist, etc.). The venue staff are all very professional and nice to talk to and work with. Venue was very accommodating with our needs and requests.
Superior Shores Resort
November Wedding
(April 19, 2017 at 8:19 PM)
5 Rob Brown
by

Rob

My wife and I wanted a North Shore wedding and Superior Shores exceeded all expectations! Jenna, Sam, and the rest of their staff we unbelievably helpful and flexible. They helped us every step of the way and were always available for questions. The kitchen made multiple walleye dishes for us to choose from and the food was amazing, both the groom's dinner and reception. We were unable to have the wedding on the beach since it was winter, but we had the ceremony and reception in the ballroom. The amazing staff flipped the entire room in less than the hour we had the receiving line and cocktail hour at the upstairs bar! We had multiple guest comment on how friendly and helpful the staff was and it was one of the nicest weddings they have been to. We highly recommend Superior Shores to anyone, especially in the winter as it is more beautiful with a layer of fresh snow!
Superior Shores Resort
Great wedding venue
(January 28, 2017 at 1:56 PM)
5 Jacob Drebelbis
by

Jacob

My wife and I married at Superior Shores Resort in August 2014. We loved being able to get married on the beach and have all our friends and family in one location. We had great beer options (Castle Danger close by was great), great pie (Betty's pies) as well as phenomenal service from all the Super Shores staff. The staff helped both of us (especially my wife) have an easy and non-stressful wedding experience and I would do it all over again the exact same way if I had the choice.
Superior Shores Resort
Great wedding venue
(October 16, 2016 at 9:27 PM)
5 TJ Bentley
by

TJ

My wife and I wanted to have a wedding on the north shore and Superior Shores Resort did not disappoint! The staff was very helpful and flexible with requests, and also helping with some ideas we had for our wedding. Went above and beyond our expectations! The day of the wedding everything was set up and perfect. We would recommend this place to anyone looking to have a small or big wedding on the north shore.
Superior Shores Resort
September Wedding at Superior Shores
(September 20, 2016 at 5:50 PM)
5 Tammy Peterson
by

Tammy

Our Wedding at Superior Shores was beautiful and smoothly executed by the staff off Superior Shores. From our first visit all the way through the reception, the staff was flexible, responsive and efficient. They made us feel welcomed and pampered. The rooms are beautiful especially the suites. The suites are a great place to get ready for the wedding and enjoy time with the bridal party. The staff went above and beyond to make our Wedding day a grand event and we were the third wedding they hosted that weekend. We couldn't have asked for a better experience and plan to return to Superior Shores for other special occasions. If you want a beautiful North Shore Wedding on Lake Superior, you will not find a better location. Many Thanks to Superior Shores, Jenna, and the staff.
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Wedding!
(August 22, 2016 at 6:30 PM)
5 Tyler Berends
by

Tyler

We recently held our ceremony and reception at Superior Shores and it was amazing. It is the perfect spot for a local destination wedding. The entire weekend, from the rehearsal to the gift opening, took place at Superior Shores. The scenery is beautiful, with the ceremony taking place on a quiet, secluded bay. The Superior Shores staff were extremely helpful along the process from the beginning planning and throughout the night. We loved having our wedding at Superior Shores and would highly recommend it to anyone looking!
Superior Shores Resort
Absolutely Amazing
(July 19, 2016 at 8:17 PM)
4.8 Mark H
by

Mark

The beauty of Lake Superior was truly amazing and we had multiple guests express that our wedding was the best they have been to, ever. We have a perfectly sunny day with clear blue skies which only made Lake Superior even more tranquil. Jenna, the Director of Sales & Marketing, was our main point of contact for before and during the wedding. She was a delight to work with and had an excellent response time for all of our inquiries. We even met with her two days before the wedding to finalize details and make changes, which shows the resort's great flexibility to meet our vision for the entire day. Having the wedding on the beach offered the casual experience we wanted while still providing the elegant view of the landscape, so not many decorations were needed. The staff was extremely friendly, the food was complimented by the guests, and the experience of planning the wedding was easy. The two night minimum stay did cause some wedding guests to not stay at the resort, but the ones who did enjoyed the full lake view experience along with a nice vacation for their families on the North Shore. If you are looking for a mini-destination wedding (MN or WI residents) with a wonderful location, this is definitely a place we would recommend.
Superior Shores Resort
Perfect Wedding Weekend!
(July 11, 2016 at 11:02 PM)
5 Hallie Rathbun
by

Hallie

Although this is a review of our wedding day, I have so much to say about our entire experience at Superior Shores. I grew up staying at Superior Shores with my family and have so many fond memories of our time spent on the North Shore. I remember seeing weddings happen there as a little girl and fantasizing about getting married there one day, so when we got engaged, it was a no brainer that we would check it out. Jenna responded to our inquiries right away and provided us with tons of information to make our decision easier. I had hesitations because of the mauve color of the ballroom.... turns out they had plans to renovate in April which made the decision even easier. The ballroom looks GORGEOUS with the new wall covering, artwork and fireplace. Jenna was so flexible in helping us make our reception unique and customized, including allowing us an area for yard games, an outdoor cocktail hour, and a bonfire. Superior Shores also provided a golf cart to get our grandmas to and from the ceremony on the beach. Speaking of the ceremony on the beach, I could not IMAGINE a more beautiful place to get married. ABSOLUTELY gorgeous. The food, AMAZING (we also had our grooms dinner at Superior Shores and our guests LOVED the fajita buffet). The staff was great and even worked directly with our event coordinator prior to the wedding so we didn't have to be the middle man in terms of communication. Our guests were able to check in early on Friday, rooms were very nice and clean. Everyone said it was one of the most fun, beautiful and classy weddings they've ever been to. Jenna was SO easy to work with and we are already depressed this amazing weekend is over. HIGHLY RECOMMEND Superior Shores for an entire guest experience.
Superior Shores Resort
Amazing Place!
(June 21, 2016 at 2:46 PM)
5 Liz DesLauriers
by

Liz

The fact that I am writing this review more than two years after our wedding says a few things...First, it is still stuck in our minds as one of the greatest and most beautiful days of our lives and second, that we still have a relationship with Jenna and Superior Shores. They were good to us from the beginning and our wedding was so easy and fun to plan. We were able to add in so many creative and personal details and SS was happy to accommodate. Our wedding was in November and we did it on the beach--it was amazing and memorable. We had a delicious meal and one heck of a party afterwards! My friends and family still talk about our wedding as one of the best they have ever been to. We still get back to Superior Shores every year and it is so fun to see Jenna and relive our wedding weekend!
Superior Shores Resort
Absolutely Amazing
(June 16, 2016 at 6:34 PM)
5 Trisha Westman
by

Trisha

The north shore was the first vacation that my husband took me on. As soon as I arrived, I feel in love and knew this area was were I wanted to get married. So when he proposed, We made plans to get married up north. Superior Shores was the second out of three resorts we toured, and we knew when we toured the last facility that Superior Shores was the place for us. We contacted Jenna and picked a date. From then on, any and all questions, comments, or concerns I had, Jenna and her team answered them with a fast turnaround. When it came to the day of our wedding, it was low 80s and perfect. the day before and the day after were cold and rainy but our wedding day was sunny and amazing, just as Jenna had promised! For a wedding of 150 people, Superior Shores was the perfect place, I was asked by one of my guests, how did your find this place? I told them Fate and Google! Superior Shores is an amazing place to have a wedding and Jenna and her team are there to help to make your wedding perfect!
Superior Shores Resort
Beautiful Wedding Location
(June 4, 2016 at 10:37 AM)
4.8 Bailie Plaia
by

Bailie

Growing up I spent numerous weekends hiking trails along the North Shore and once I met my now husband, and him being from ND, I made sure to share my hiking experiences. It's such a beautiful area and once we had toured Superior Shores, I knew this was the place to have our wedding. It'd be a beautiful setting for the event and all our guests could take in the beauty Lake Superior has to offer. Jenna at Superior Shores was absolutely amazing! The tour went well and after we booked our date, I had so many questions but Jenna made sure to answer every single one; her prompt responses were very impressive! We had one minor glitch within our planning process, but she was quick to fix the issue and made sure to take care of us until end. I felt 100% confident with her helping us out. We got married on May 21, 2016 ~ the weather was absolutely PERFECT! Mid 70's and sunny. The ceremony sight was absolutely beautiful with the sun shining, white chairs for the guests and the bright blue waters of Lake Superior as the back drop; it was defiantly a breathtaking ceremony sight. Our DJ did great and the equipment was perfect so all guests could hear every part of the ceremony; the outcome of an outdoor wedding is rather unpredictable. The reception room was the perfect size and comfortable; we had about 125 guests. With the patio directly outside the room, our guests were able to mingle inside and outside and still be a part of the celebration. The food served by Superior Shores was delicious and the serving time was very impressive! As we finished our salads, plates were taken away and shortly after, the main course was placed in front of us. Looking out at our guests, it was the same for them! Very impressed! Overall: the ceremony site was incredible with its breathtaking beauty, the reception room was comfortable and offered convenient access to outside, the food was delicious, and Jenna was absolutely amazing to work with. This was my first weekend staying at the Resort; it was defiantly a home away from home experience. I highly recommend Superior Shores as anyone's wedding destination!
Superior Shores Resort
Wonderful location, staff and service
(October 23, 2015 at 1:04 AM)
5 Lisa Boynton
by

Lisa

We had our wedding at Superior Shores and everything was excellent!! Jenna helped us with our booking/reservations for rooms and was always quick to respond and very helpful. During our planning they hired Angel as F/B director, so we met with her to go over/plan our wedding, as well as the Friday evening grooms dinner, which was a large event also as everyone who was invited to the wedding, was also included in the dinner also. The weekend of the wedding everything went smoothly and staff and service went above and beyond our expectations . Not that we didn't have high expectations, but they went out of their way to be accommodating, flexible and take care of us and our guests to assure all went well. Everyone said what a wonderful weekend/time they had at the wedding, beautiful location and great food. Thank you Superior Shores!!
Superior Shores Resort
Gorgeous Wedding!
(October 14, 2015 at 1:12 PM)
4.4 Ally Grunewaldt
by

Ally

Superior Shores Resort is a fantastic wedding location! I had not been to this resort before, so was a little hesitant in planning my wedding there. But the location was great and not too far from the twin cities! We booked the venue about a year in advance; I definitely recommend that if there is a particular date you want. They also had plenty of accomadations for guests. The only major concern I had in the planning process was a change of staff about 5 months before the wedding. But Angel and Jenna worked very hard to make sure my special day was exactly as I had pictured! The resort was very accomadating to last minute head count changes and the food was fanastic!! We had the lasagna bolognese and chicken alfredo with pasta oligio for guests with food allergies. All my guests were raving about the food. The staff overall did very well serving the dinner. They were a little behind however on serving dessert so guests had to wait for enough to be served. Also, the morning of the wedding, a member of the staff was vacuming the reception hall and became annoyed when we wanted to take a few pictures in the hall. Finally, during the hussle with serving dessert, my crystal pie server I had purchased went missing. The resort kept saying it had to be in my stuff, but to my dismay it wasnt anywhere. It was located at the resort about a week later and shipped to me, Angel and Jenna handled the situation well and would've compensated me accordingly if it had not been located. I was glad we were able to set up the night before, but that is not always the case depending if they have other functions going on in the reception hall. We also had Monica from Paper Capers set up toule and lights on the ceiling- she was able to set up at 630am the morning of the wedding and it looked beautiful!! My husband and I are extremely pleased with how well our wedding day turned out and huge part of that is owed to Angel and the staff of Superior Shores. All in all, the resort handled everything well and We will definitely be recommending this location for anyone interested in getting married on the North Shore!
Superior Shores Resort
Had a Blast!
(October 5, 2015 at 5:19 PM)
5 Aimee Nelson
by

Aimee

We just had our wedding at Superior Shores Resort and it was a blast!! Jenna and Angel were both very accommodating and even helped with some last minute menu changes and rearranging of the ballroom. They were very responsive to my emails and questions which was great considering I live 3 hours away. We did hire a decorator/planner which was also a huge help! The beach ceremony was absolutely beautiful :) We have received so many compliments on the fun weekend. Overall it was a great experience and I wouldn't change a thing!!
Superior Shores Resort
Grateful Mother of the Bride
(July 21, 2015 at 3:16 AM)
5 Carol Ahlquist
by

Carol

Our daughter was married on Superior Shores's pebble beach on a gloriously sunny day, July 26, 2014, in front of 225 joyful guests. The blue sky and crystal blue water, green grass and trees, and blooming wild flowers were the perfect backdrop as we celebrated this holy event, mindful of God's many blessings. Our Pastor from the Twin Cities very kindly made the trip to perform the ceremony. Although we were not in church, the presence of The Lord was definitely felt on that beautiful beach. From our very first call to Jenna, the site manager, as we began researching her Resort for the wedding, to our last phone call the Monday following the wedding (to tie up final costs), I had every question, request and detail handled promptly by Jenna and her staff. We made three trips up there: one to view the site and get general information; one to taste the food; and before we knew it, the wedding weekend! Everyone was so friendly to us, our entire (huge) wedding party, and all of our guests, from early morning to late into the night! Jenna gave us a helpful list of vendors who work in the area. We chose a wedding planner (Mariah at Northland Special Events), a bakery (Mark at The Exchange), a hair salon (The New Hairitage), and our photographer (Alan Johnson Photography) from that list! We received excellent service from each of them. Alan Johnson was especially fantastic, taking hundreds of beautiful and unique photos, late into the evening. The sight of my beautiful daughter dancing in the grass in joyful praise and celebration on her wedding evening, as Alan's camera snapped away, is a sight I cherish and will always remember. Because this was a destination wedding, it was important for us to see that our guests were well taken care of. We chose to give each family a welcome gift bag of goodies and beverages that we had packed especially for them, which they received upon their arrival. On the wedding day, we had a beautiful variety of delicious hors d'oeuvres served on the outdoor patio immediately following the service while wedding photos were being taken, including lots of cold lemonade! We served a sit down dinner with the choice of walleye, Minnesota chicken or the vegetarian (squash ravioli) option. Every plate was beautiful and our guests raved about the food. Around 9:30 PM we had the staff set out a buffet of pizza and snacks, which our dancing guests thoroughly enjoyed! To further express our gratitude and send them on their way, we treated our guests to the Sunday morning brunch buffet, which was a beautiful and delicious assortment of foods. At each of these meals the staff was pleasant and professional, and our guests raved about the food and the friendliness of everyone they came in contact with at Superior Shores. We continue to hear from our family and friends what a perfect choice Superior Shores Resort was in every way, and what a fantastic weekend they enjoyed at our daughter's wedding. My only two regrets are: that we did not put sunscreen in the welcome bags, and that I did not dance more! :) This grateful mother of the bride wishes she could do it all over again. I would not change one thing. Many thanks, one year later, to God, Jenna, and everyone at Superior Shores Resort. xo Carol
Superior Shores Resort
Best Day, Ever!
(July 20, 2015 at 5:47 PM)
5 Sarah Schneider
by

Sarah

While most people undeniably rate their wedding day as one of the best days of their lives, regardless of extraneous circumstances, I can honestly say that Superior Shores was a major factor in making my wedding day perfect in every way. You simply cannot beat that setting! They have an absolutely PERFECT spot for any couple to say their vows, (especially if the couple loves nature). The facilities are also top-notch. In addition to lots of awesome outside areas, the ballroom is very spacious and can be decorated to anyone's specific desires. There is a HUGE deck overlooking the lake, and a fun bar/restaurant area. There's a variety of guest rooms, to fit the entire guest list's needs, from cozy Jacuzzi rooms to gigantic suites. From my knowledge, Superior Shores is also one of the largest venues, (if not THE largest) on Minnesota's North Shore, which is one of the reasons why we chose it. (We had a big, loud, crazy wedding party!) Beyond all of the aesthetics, there's also a wonderful staff working at Superior Shores. They were extremely helpful and courteous from the day we went to visit and choose the site, to the wedding day, and even beyond. (My husband and I will be celebrating our one-year anniversary at the resort and plan to make it a family vacation spot for years to come...) Superior Shores' staff is very professional and detail-oriented. Planning a wedding obviously has its stressors, but I knew that I had nothing to worry about regarding my venue because the people working there do their jobs so well. They were quick to respond to all of my emails and able to promptly address every question or concern, while making me feel totally at ease. That sort of thing is priceless when planning a wedding!!! As far as other little details... The food was EXCELLENT! There are so many delicious items on the menu that it's hard to know what to pick for your big day! (We did a tasting at the resort about 6 months before the wedding. That was also really fun!) I think the cost is very reasonable for everything, as well. The meal and beverage costs are probably on par with any other decent wedding venues across Minnesota, and I think that the price for renting the room was less than it probably could cost. All in all, I cannot say enough good things about this place. I highly recommend it to all of the brides-to-be out there! :)
Superior Shores Resort
Beautiful Wedding Reception
(April 24, 2015 at 6:01 PM)
5 Annelyse Stromberg
by

Annelyse

My husband and I were married on April 11, 2015 and had our reception at Superior Shores Resort. It was absolutely perfect. Jenna, the director of sales and marketing, was so easy to work with. She answered all 500 of my emails with ease, called to double check on details to ensure perfection, and even allowed us to come in two days before the event to decorate the entire ballroom (which took us about 8 hours!) All of the staff at Superior Shores was very accommodating to our every need. Also, the plated lasagna we chose for our dinner was amazing! Such great and speedy food service. We have had so many compliments on how elegant and beautiful the entire experience was at Superior Shores. We would definitely recommend it to everyone!
Superior Shores Resort
Customer Review
(April 14, 2015 at 10:23 AM)
5 Greg Patty
by

Greg

We fell in love the first time we stayed here and came back a year later to plan our wedding. Six months later we were back for the big day! The staff at Superior Shores made everything so easy! It was especially helpful since 'home' is over 200 miles away. Every little detail was thought of and the day was perfect. We still come back to visit and consider this our home away from home!
Superior Shores Resort
Wonderful Experience
(October 9, 2014 at 8:34 PM)
5 Adrien Clough
by

Adrien

Superior Shores was an excellent choice for us! They were very flexible and allowed us to set up the day before the event which allowed us time to make the reception exactly how we wanted it. Jenna (the coordinator) was very easy to work with. She always responded quickly and answered all of our questions. We definitely recommend Superior Shores to others!
Superior Shores Resort
Destination wedding without needing a passport
(September 23, 2014 at 1:08 PM)
5 Sarah Drebelbis
by

Sarah

Superior Shores Resort was a perfect location for my husband and I to host our wedding this past summer. We were looking for a venue to host a casual but large wedding for around 225 guests. We were drawn to the resort because it wasn't your typical hotel wedding - we were able to have our ceremony right on the beach, our guests could walk to the outdoor cocktail area and plan lawn games or mingle inside, have a fabulous fajita buffet followed by dance and bonfire. The resort allowed us to have a variety of activities for our guests for whatever they were in the mood for. We are so pleased with how everything turned out! First of all - Jenna is FABULOUS to work with. She typically responded within a day to my requests - was available via e-mail and phone if needed. She is calm, accommodating, helpful and even suggested additional ways to make our wedding weekend the best it could be. Your wedding venue planning will not be stressful if you work with her! We planned a whole weekend of events for our wedding, mainly because of the two night minimum at the resort. I was nervous about this minimum for our guests but it ended up working out perfectly. We had a social time for our guests on Friday night at the resort's bar - it was like the pre-party before the big party on Saturday night! Everyone was having fun, had an extra chance to catch up with old friends and family, while being waited on by gracious resort staff. We created a wedding welcome sheet to give to our guests so they know about all the activities going on. Since the location is right on the North Shore of Lake Superior, we really wanted our guests to be able to take advantage of all the exciting things there is to do there - everyone loved it! Everyone on staff at the resort is incredibly accommodating - we made a last minute decision to invite our extended family to say our goodbyes over breakfast in the Kamploops Lounge. The restaurant staff called in extra staff to make sure our guests were accommodated on Sunday morning so everyone could head out on time. The set-up for the rooms in the resort worked great. Our bridal party shared conjoining rooms which was extremely convenient with the fridge, stove and sink for a kitchen set-up. I was able to walk directly out of my hotel suite on to the path that lead to the ceremony location on the beach. It was the beautiful entrance I always wanted! With any outdoor venue, keep in mind a rain-plan. Or a wind plan. We got married in late August (when it is typically very hot) and had a breezy 60 degree outdoor ceremony. Just be prepared (and make sure your guests are prepared) for changing variables in weather. We couldn't be happier about our experiences working with the resort and how beautiful everything turned out. I would highly recommend this location to anyone interested!