LOGIN
The Journey Home

The Journey Home

Visit Us On:
Dearborn, MO

The Journey Home

5
out of 5.0

Quality of Service

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Professionalism

5.0

Value

4.9

Flexibility

5.0
The Journey Home
Journey Home
(December 29, 2017 at 1:23 PM)
5 Emily Crady
by

Emily

Our weekend spent at The Journey Home was absolutely magical. The country setting was stunning and our entire wedding party (18! plus several significant others) stayed at the house with us. Our family and friends had a blast. The house was the perfect location for small rehearsal dinner and the barn held our 150 wedding guests with plenty of room. The setting was unique romantic- exactly how I dreamed our wedding would be. Tara and Cindy with The Journey Home could not have been more friendly, or accommodating. My husband and I are thrilled that we made the choice to book that venue for the weekend and still enjoy looking back on the beautiful photographs taken there.
The Journey Home
A great experience
(December 18, 2017 at 12:08 PM)
5 Drew Shepard
by

Drew

I couldn't have asked for a better group of people to work with to make our wedding day a memorable one. There are a lot of wedding venues in the Kansas City area, but I couldn't be happier that we chose the Journey Home. The property was perfect for accommodating our wedding party and offered the ability to have everyone stay on the property the entire weekend. I recommend the Journey Home to anyone looking for a great value, vintage/rustic but comfortable venue, and wide open spaces.
The Journey Home
Awesome Experience
(December 18, 2017 at 11:45 AM)
5 Casey Charlton
by

Casey

My wife and could not have had a better wedding experience. We had large amount of immediate family traveling from different states, and this was the perfect place to spend a weekend with everyone. Everything from our rehearsal dinner to our reception was perfect. Wouldn't have done it anywhere else.
The Journey Home
Wonderful Venue
(December 1, 2017 at 3:17 PM)
5 Marty Nelson
by

Marty

My daughter looked far and wide for the perfect venue for her June wedding. She finally found it at The Journey Home. It was love at first sight for me. It was perfect in every way. We loved the staff. The beautiful home which we stayed for two days was so delightful. It met our every need. The guests also expressed their gratitude in being able to stay in such lovely surroundings. The reception in the barn was just wonderful... There was such a nice breeze flowing through.....it was amazing for it was a warm day. All in all, I could not recommend more highly The Journey Home !!!! Mom of the Bride
The Journey Home
Peters Wedding
(November 18, 2017 at 11:16 PM)
5 Shane Peters
by

Shane

Fitting that this site is titled Perfect Wedding. Both me and my now wife could not have asked for a more perfect wedding. The staff were incredible and helped us at every step along our Journey to wedded bliss. The grounds were absolutely beautiful. The house is spacious and welcoming and was a perfect fit for our out-of-town guests. The barn... truly amazing, as was the backdrop of corn fields with the perfect sunset. This is truly an amazing place and we had an amazing experience. We would highly recommend The Journey home!
The Journey Home
The Journey Home
(November 18, 2017 at 10:57 PM)
5 JMe Peters
by

JMe

After a 4-month engagement, I married the man I had been waiting for, for over 42 years! Because I never thought I would be blessed by getting married, I had never planned a wedding or thought about any of my desires for a wedding. However, the moment we stepped onto the Journey Home, we both knew this was the place! When we booked our wedding, the staff was on top of all of our needs. We immediately started planning the event. Within 2 hours we had the date and all the decorating plans completed. We booked the entire weekend in order to decorate and have our family and friends surrounding us during our special weekend. This extra time allowed us to enjoy every moment of our wedding, from setting up to spending time with our guests... especially those who had come from far away and the ability to stay in the home really brought us all together. The day was the most perfect day anyone could have asked for. The grounds were perfectly manicured and the sunset was perfect. The barn was so beautifully decorated and it was enchanting to even walk into it. From the moment we booked our wedding to well after our wedding, the Journey home managed every detail to our complete satisfaction. They still check in on us and we count them as our family. We were so very fortunate to find this place... it made the day I never thought would happen be the day of my dreams.
The Journey Home
Father of the bride
(November 14, 2017 at 9:54 AM)
5 Gary Nelson
by

Gary

The Journey Home is a beautiful place for a wedding. The old barn served as a great place to hold the dinner and reception. And the guest house could not have been a better place to house the weekend guest. This is a first class facility for a wedding. It is a beautiful place and the staff were wonderful. I would definitely recommend The Journey Home for a wedding.
The Journey Home
The perfect weekend.
(October 29, 2017 at 11:16 PM)
4.8 Kendra Dalsing
by

Kendra

My now husband and I searched all over for the perfect venue. We were so happy when we found The Journey Home. It made it so convenient to have the venue the whole weekend and to be able to hang out with family and friends in one location. The house and barn are so beautiful and the scenery outside for our ceremony was breathtaking. Tara was wonderful to work with and the staff was very friendly. I would highly recommend The Journey Home!!
The Journey Home
WEDDING
(October 29, 2017 at 10:57 PM)
4.8 JOSHUA DALSING
by

JOSHUA

My wife and I really wanted a rustic wedding and she picked The Journey Home as our wedding and rehearsal location. It was great being able to get to the venue on Friday and start getting things set up then being able to enjoy time with family and friends over the whole weekend. The employees were very friendly and are there if you have any questions. The location is very nice and I thought the barn was perfect for reception. I would recommend couples looking for wedding venues to check out The Journey Home!
The Journey Home
Mother of the groom
(October 29, 2017 at 9:33 PM)
5 Cheryl Dalsing
by

Cheryl

The wedding was wonderful. It was so nice to be able to do everything at the same place. The house was wonderful and the barn was absolutely beautiful!
The Journey Home
One of a kind experience!
(October 15, 2017 at 9:44 PM)
5 Matthew McGuire
by

Matthew

The Journey Home is an awesome place to have a wedding and here are a couple reasons why: 1) Beautiful Place - If you haven't seen the house and barn, go right now! The colonial house is cute and full of character with a porch, a cool staircase, and really has that cozy-house feel, which is great to let loose and be ready for that big day. 2) Very Spacious - Great for big groups. I was able to fit all of our groomsmen, bridesmaids, plus both families and even a few of our friends all under one roof. There was plenty of beds and even a big enough kitchen to make breakfast for us all. 3) Cool Barn - It's an old tobacco barn which offers such a cool feel and can easily adapt to any style and provides the perfect atmosphere for a party. We were able to hipster-up the place with big edison light bulbs and all the guests loved it! 4) Great Service - The service they offer is unbeatable. The day before my wedding there was a rainstorm which means tons of wind and water...everywhere. The next morning the tables and floor were all wet but the manager was so quick to fix everything, she was out there bright and early and before we knew it everything was running beautifully again. Overall, it was so worth it. Warning : if you see it, you will probably Love it!
The Journey Home
Fantastic Experience!
(October 15, 2017 at 9:11 PM)
5 Kerin McGuire
by

Kerin

My now husband and I rented the complete venue package at The Journey Home (House and Barn) for our wedding weekend. The house is beautiful with great amenities. Our entire wedding party plus a few friends stayed in the house the night before and having a kitchen the next morning made breakfast with so many people run very smoothly. The manager was a great help, very sweet, and always one step ahead. I felt she was totally in control which took a lot of stress off of the wedding day and days leading up to it. On the day of our wedding in ended up raining but The Journey Home team was great and made sure that plastic was up on the outside of the barn to keep rain and wind out. The day couldn't have been anymore perfect! I want to thank them for their assistance to make our day run smoothly. I would highly suggest this venue to any couple looking in the MO and KS areas for wedding venues.
The Journey Home
Daughters wedding
(October 4, 2017 at 12:05 PM)
5 Tanya Fopeano
by

Tanya

As a parent of the bride, the wedding process can be overwhelming. But from the moment we toured the Journey Home with its serene views, and spoke to Cindy the director we new we had found the perfect venue for my daughter and her husband to be! We had the place the whole weekend! Rehearsal dinner through the after wedding breakfast. The staff was so helpful with planning and she even helped us the evening of the wedding! My daughter was so happy with this venue and the weekend. Thank you!
The Journey Home
Great Venue
(October 4, 2017 at 12:40 AM)
5 Seth Cline
by

Seth

My wife and I got married at The Journey Home in June 2016. It was such a memorable and enjoyable weekend. Cindy was so generous and really made the experience amazing. We loved how it was up in the country with beautiful views. We are so happy we chose The Journey Home and would recommend it to anyone.
The Journey Home
The Perfect Day
(October 4, 2017 at 12:31 AM)
5 Elaina Cline
by

Elaina

My husband and I got married at The Journey Home over a year ago. It was the perfect wedding weekend. The outdoor ceremony had a breathtaking view and the barn was rustic and charming. The staff was so nice and helpful. We are so happy we chose The Journey Home for our big day!
The Journey Home
perfection!
(September 1, 2017 at 12:03 AM)
5 jaime mcguire
by

jaime

The Journey Home was a fantastic venue for a wedding. Not only was the house amazing, but the barn provided that rustic elegance we wanted. The staff was great to work with, even when we needed extra protection in the storm. Thank you Journey Home for a wonderful evening!
The Journey Home
Venue Review
(August 29, 2017 at 6:57 PM)
5 Megan Carey
by

Megan

Cindy, Tara, and staff were so amazing for our wedding weekend we can not thank them enough! From initially helping us make seating charts and thinking of details we never thought of, to helping the day before when wrong tables were delivered, to checking in the day of and helping in whatever we needed. They were so kind and wonderful to work with. We love being able to have all our family and bridal party be able to stay in one place for the entire weekend! the Journey Home was the perfect venue for our dream wedding.
The Journey Home
Perfect!
(August 29, 2017 at 9:45 AM)
5 Shelley Lovell
by

Shelley

The Journey Home is the perfect wedding venue. As the mother of the bride I could not be happier with the attention to detail from the staff. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. I would recommend it to anyone!
The Journey Home
Beautiful place to stay for your wedding day!
(October 18, 2016 at 10:53 PM)
4.8 Paige Lampton Hancock
by

Paige

We toured just one other venue before The Journey Home, but after talking with Cindy and walking the grounds we knew this was the place for our wedding day. Cindy was so helpful throughout the process of planning and had tips and suggestions. She goes above and beyond in her position. It was so nice to be at one location for the whole weekend. We held our rehearsal dinner, ceremony, and reception all at the house/barn. Our wedding party and some family were able to stay at the house both nights. We received so many compliments on our venue and it made for beautiful pictures. I would recommend The Journey Home to any bride to be !!
The Journey Home
Hundley Wedding
(October 15, 2016 at 11:38 PM)
5 Josh Hundley
by

Josh

The Journey Home was the perfect place for our wedding weekend a couple weeks ago. Cindy was very helpful during the entire process and worked very hard to make sure everything was in order for our wedding day. The ability to have the venue the whole weekend and allow our friends and family to stay really reduced our stress levels and gave us more time to be with those important to us. Most of my family came from 2.5 hours away and my best man flew in from Honolulu and the amenities offered made the trip for all very easy and almost vacation like. The house is has great pre-1900s looks and photographs very well and the barn....it's amazing! The same pre-1900s look, but this tobacco barn can show elegance. It has been modernized with a concrete floor, restrooms and a covered patio to give you a barn wedding with modern amenities. Cindy does an excellent job decorating the barn and gives many options (or you can do it yourself). I highly recommend this venue for your wedding or even your next retreat.
The Journey Home
Hundley Wedding
(October 15, 2016 at 10:14 PM)
5 Alissa Bearly
by

Alissa

We recently got married at The Journey Home. We had looked at numerous venues, but after meeting Cindy and learning that we could have the venue for the entire weekend we knew it was the perfect venue. We loved the option to have our wedding party and out of town guests stay on site. Cindy is one of the sweetest people ever. She met with with me more times than I can count, was patient with my indecisiveness, and was a wealth of information. I really appreciated how organized they are, we were provided a binder with information regarding the venue (pricing, layout of house, etc), recommended (but not required) vendors, and rentals (decor, tables, linens, etc). And as far as the actual venue the house, barn, and property are stunning. I still cannot believe how gorgeous everything was and it made for AMAZING photos. I absolutely would recommend using The Journey Home as a wedding venue and would even consider using it in the future for a retreat, family/friend reunion, or other events.
The Journey Home
Schilling wedding
(October 10, 2016 at 9:11 PM)
5 Justin Schilling
by

Justin

I recently got married this year in May. The journey home was perfect for our family. We did the three day package. It worked so well since we have two children under the age of two. They even provided a pack and play for our son to sleep in. Cindy is a nice lady to work with. She called several times checking on us and the new baby. She really was helpful in this whole process. I would recommend their services.
The Journey Home
Schilling wedding
(October 10, 2016 at 8:46 PM)
5 Morgan Schilling
by

Morgan

I recently got married this year in May. We searched high and low for our perfect venue. After going and meeting with several people we fell absolutely in LOVE with the journey home. It's beauty of the old fashioned home mixed with modern decor made it the perfect place to say I DO. We did the three day package. It worked so well since we have two children under the age of two. They even provided a pack and play for my son to sleep in. Cindy is amazing to work with. She called several times and always was so warm and welcoming she was like family to my family. She really was a blessing in this whole process. I had a wedding decorated and she would even meet and chat with her since I was busy with the new baby to make sure my dream was turned into a reality. We made so many memories that will last a lifetime. I would highly recommend their services and definitely go with the three day stay. Thank you Cindy and the Journey home for everything!
The Journey Home
Wedding
(October 10, 2016 at 7:52 PM)
5 Lori Cox
by

Lori

My daughter was married here! Absolutely beautiful! Felt right at home the entire weekend spending the weekend there! Cindy was WONDERFUL!!! I would recommend this place again and again!! Thank you so much!!!
The Journey Home
The Spinsters still party
(September 30, 2016 at 9:22 PM)
4.8 Theresa Wright
by

Theresa

Knowing the story behind this lovely venue made our wedding day all the more special and feel like a family home. There is no doubt in my husband's and my mind that when it came to a venue we couldn't have made a better, more beautiful, relaxing choice to spend our day with friends and family. Cindy was great and after checking out other venues I'd be hard press to say there exists a more flexible venue for the value out there near Kansas City. If we could we'd rent the venue again just to spend another memory filled weekend with family.
The Journey Home
Perfect Getaway
(September 12, 2016 at 2:52 PM)
5 Trevor Bond
by

Trevor

The Journey Home was awesome. My wife and I looked at a few different venues, but the Journey Home stood out for many reasons. For one, it was awesome to be able to set up camp at the venue and stay there with the entire wedding party for the entire weekend. The overnight option made it easy to coordinate details and, more importantly, have fun with our friends. Another reason The Journey Home stood out was that it is gorgeous but not over-the-top. We got a ton of compliments that our venue was beautiful and that it really incorporated the outdoors, which was one of our goals. Some even said it was the most beautiful wedding they had been to, and some of the pictures are just breathtaking. Finally, the Journey Home stood out because Cindy was there to help with many important details, operating as a de facto day-of coordinator. She definitely helped to cut down on our stress before and during the ceremony and reception. I would recommend this venue to anyone!
The Journey Home
The PERFECT Wedding Venue
(September 12, 2016 at 11:45 AM)
5 Courtney Bond
by

Courtney

Wow- I cannot begin to describe how incredible and perfect The Journey Home is for a wedding venue. As I began the venue search, I looked at a few venues downtown, large ballrooms, and The Journey Home (TJH). Although all the venues I looked at were beautiful, nothing compared to TJH. Not only is the venue gorgeous with the miles of corn fields, large white rustic barn, and historic mansion- but the atmosphere that Cindy and the rest of the staff provides is laid back and welcoming. My now husband and I were looking for a 'rustic, casual elegant' wedding. We wanted the rustic charm mixed with chandeliers - but more importantly, we wanted a venue that portrayed who we were as a couple- and we found exactly that in TJH. We rented the venue for the entire weekend and had our rehearsal dinner on the front lawn and then got married outside and a reception in the barn the next night. One of my favorite parts of the weekend was each evening. Each night, our bridal parties stayed at the mansion and it truly felt like a getaway weekend. If I had the whole process to do again, I would not change my venue. The Journey Home was incredible and everything we hoped for in a wedding venue- and all of our guests LOVED it! Big thank you to Cindy and TJH for giving us the wedding we always hoped for!
The Journey Home
From the Mother-of-the-Bride
(August 21, 2016 at 4:49 PM)
5 Jane Wetzel
by

Jane

The Journey Home was a beautiful site for the wedding of our daughter at the end of May. Our event followed a week of solid rain- even the Friday evening before was a downpour. It was hard to imagine that a ceremony outside on Saturday would be possible. The day turned out gorgeous and thanks to the efforts of many, it all came together to be exactly what we had hope the day would be. Cindy was incredibly helpful and works so hard. She was available to answer any questions throughout the wedding process, she was physically available helping us with water issues and making sure everything went the way we expected. It was a magical weekend!
The Journey Home
A Dream Wedding
(August 19, 2016 at 5:09 PM)
5 Laura Brummer
by

Laura

We found The Journey Home randomly online and decided to get in the car and drive out to meet Cindy and see what it was all about. The second we stepped out of the car, we knew we had found the place where we were going to get married. The venue was perfect for our two families to get away for the weekend and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting. The ceremony itself was unreal and the reception was just an absolute dream. The beautiful historical barn set against green lawn and cornfields with an open blue sky...it was just altogether magical and it would not have been possible without the amazingly patient Cindy Hopkins. She was so encouraging, helpful and supportive throughout the entire planning process. This place was everything and more!
The Journey Home
Our Perfect Weekend
(August 19, 2016 at 1:05 PM)
5 Gage Brummer
by

Gage

The forecast for days was rain, rain, rain. We were so preoccupied with the possibility of precipitation to the point that it bordered on obsession. What we forgot was that regardless of the weather, we had the perfect venue. When we got to the Journey Home on Friday, the skies were dark and the forecast darker. We were forced to abandon our hopes for an outdoor rehearsal dinner on the front lawn, watching the sun go down. Luckily, though, we didn't have to go far. After heavily rearranging the interior of the home, we were able to fit our 70+ person dinner indoors. This wouldn't have been possible at most wedding venues, but luckily, the Journey Home truly becomes your home for the weekend, allowing you the freedom to change plans and improvise as needed. We awoke on the morning of our wedding to the most beautiful sunrise piercing through the hazy gray of yesterday's storms. The world was still, though our hearts were racing. I can't describe how beautiful the property was that morning, because it would not do it justice. The groomsmen and I took a hiatus to O'Malleys in Weston to get away from the insanity that was happening to set up the wedding, and had a beer in what feels like the heart of the earth, a lagering facility dug and laid by 19th century German immigrants. It was great that Weston was so close, and the drive there is through stunningly beautiful countryside. Once we got back to the venue, our entire families, the groomsmen, and the bridesmaids were all able to get ready for the wedding in the house, which was awesome. When it came time to actually get married, the setting turned into a postcard with sparse, billowy clouds contrasted against a light blue sky. The yard was a brilliant green, immaculately cut, showcasing the home and the barn. We chose a space between two trees on the west side of the property to have our outdoor ceremony. During the ceremony, I could look back at everyone and in the distance see hills rolling all the way (it seemed) to the plains of Kansas, and when I looked forward, there was nothing but cornfields, trees, and utter rural beauty for miles. Again, my words fall short. The reception was held in the barn where we partied and danced until midnight, at which point those who were still partying retired to the fire pit by the house. This was what really sold us on the property - the ability to bring any caterer, any alcohol, and really anything that you want. They restrain you in no way. For example, we had a full on firework display around 10 pm - good luck finding the ability to do that anywhere else! The property truly becomes yours for the weekend. Our honeymoon suite was an REI Kingdom 8 (a tent) set up on the property, which again, would not have been possible really at any other venue. Many of our friends also slept outside in tents that night, saving them from forking over a couple hundred dollars for a hotel room, and also saving anyone who shouldn't have been driving from having to drive. Cindy was there throughout the entire process, from our first showing of the property, to hurriedly getting a new tent for us as tornadic weather shredded the one that had been put up earlier in the week, to coordinating parts of the day of the wedding. She arranged all of our rentals and was our liaison with all of those companies, which removed a lot of stress. The property is unbelievably beautiful, the support that they give you leading up to and on the day of wedding is immense, and the freedom to make it as you wish is unparalleled in the area. We looked at quite a few places, and got quite a few quotes, but when we got to the Journey Home and saw what we got for our money, it was a no-brainer. We were able to have a weekend away from KC with both of our families and friends staying in the same place for what proved to be the most incredible night of our lives. Go and take a look, I promise you won't regret it!
The Journey Home
Perfect
(August 18, 2016 at 9:38 AM)
5 Melinda Houttuin
by

Melinda

Wow! Is about all I can say. Cindy with the journey home goes above and beyond for anything and everything you can ask for. Our wedding day was absolutely perfect because Cindy was willing to do a hundred more steps than she needed to to make sure everything was perfect. The venue was absolutely gorgeous even with it raining for 7 hours on our wedding day. The house is absolutely amazing to stay in and the barn is just breathtaking. I will definitely be using Cindy and the journey home for many more events.
The Journey Home
Book the Journey Home!
(October 24, 2015 at 11:56 PM)
5 Rachel Pankau
by

Rachel

The Journey Home was a beautiful venue to have my sister's wedding at. The barn is beautiful and spacious, the yard and landscaping are well-maintained, and the house is beautiful and well-kept. The staff was extremely helpful in preparation and carrying out of the wedding. Their kindness and generosity made the experience. The barn was easy to decorate, did not require a lot, and provided an image of simple elegance. Using the house as an area to get ready for the wedding and hold the rehearsal the night before made it the perfect wedding weekend. I would recommend the Journey Home to any bride and her wedding party. A great price for a wonderful venue and fantastic hospitality experience.
The Journey Home
All-In-One Venue
(October 24, 2015 at 12:38 PM)
5 Shawn Marks
by

Shawn

My (now) wife had searched for awhile prior to finding and falling in love with The Journey Home for our wedding venue. It was so awesome to be able to have a full package service that was reasonably priced. First, we were able to have family and friends stay in the renovated house for Friday and Saturday night, which ended up being a huge help with travel costs and hands to set-up. Cindy (the manager) also has great partnerships with a rental company, hotel, and other vendors that included discounts for their services at The Journey Home. Cindy was there supervising the rehearsal dinner, ceremony, and reception, finalizing all the details as the day-of coordinator. She was even able to hire extra hands for parking, babysitting, and extra things as needed! The Journey Home really brought out who my wife and I are- country, family-oriented, laid back, but elegant and tasteful.
The Journey Home
AMAZING VIEWS!
(October 24, 2015 at 12:30 PM)
5 Jen Holland
by

Jen

Our wedding at The Journey Home was perfect! We were able to rent the grounds for the whole weekend and have our bridal party stay in the house. We were able to set up the day before, have the rehearsal dinner on the grounds, and finalize little things the morning of the wedding. I was relieved at how stress free everything was! Cindy (manager) was so supportive and accommodating! She met with me a handful of times prior to the big day to suffice my type A planning needs :) The ceremony took place in front of the house and our guests were able to transition to the other side of the grounds/barn for the reception. During the reception and for weeks after, our guests could not stop talking about how beautiful the house, barn, and overall area was. I wish I could share our pictures on here, because it was better than anything we could have dreamed of!
The Journey Home
Beautiful place to add your personal touches
(October 21, 2015 at 2:24 PM)
5 chelsie d
by

chelsie

I was Maid of Honor for a wedding here recently and got to be a part of the whole planning and set up process; I have to say it could not have gone better thanks to the lovely owner. The setting is beautiful and very well kept. It was all organized and all of the decor options were laid out for easy decision making. They also had lots of really helpful suggestions for vendors/hotels/transportation/everything! There are also many options on where to set up the ceremony, take pictures, have guest activities, it would be easy for anyone to really personlize this venue.
The Journey Home
A Perfect Journey
(October 21, 2015 at 9:28 AM)
5 L K
by

L

As a bridesmaid in Abby & Jeff Beyrau's wedding I had the pleasure of spending 2 beautiful nights at the Journey Home. From the moment you arrive on the grounds you can tell it's a gorgeous, bucolic place. The group I arrived with let out peals of laughter and joy as we entered the house which was pristine and even smelled amazing. Our host was very accommodating and easy going. We never wanted for anything and we LOVED the downstairs bedroom with giant bathroom. You can just tell that they have been in the business for awhile. I would recommend The Journey Home (and have) for anyone looking for a venue that is beautiful, simple, elegant and stress-free. It's nice to see a place that is as enjoyable for guests as it is for those throwing the wedding. The golf cart also provided a fair bit of hilarity.
The Journey Home
Beautiful late summer wedding
(October 21, 2015 at 12:22 AM)
5 Frances M.
by

Frances

The Journey Home was lovely! A very comfortable house combined with a beautiful barn and peaceful atmosphere made for a great weekend.
The Journey Home
A MAGICAL PLACE
(October 20, 2015 at 11:46 AM)
5 Shelleen Wienke
by

Shelleen

Every parent wants to give their daughter everything she dreams on her wedding day. From the moment I saw this place I knew it was built and created for her special day. It was like it popped right off her pinterest dream board. Cindy at TJH and all the vendors they recommended were the perfect fit for us and the day came together without one glitch. With so many from out of town in the bridal party it was also beautiful for them to be able to stay there together and have those days leading up to the wedding to have the bridal shower there. We even had the rehearsal dinner catered in the top notch kitchen! Truly a magical place to start a life and a journey as man and wife. I highly recommend this venue.
The Journey Home
Mother of the Bride
(October 19, 2015 at 8:27 PM)
5 Mary Heft
by

Mary

A beautiful venue. I could not have asked for more for my daughter and son-in-law. Everything promised was delivered with love.
The Journey Home
The perfect wedding venue
(October 18, 2015 at 6:40 PM)
5 Abby Heft
by

Abby

I cannot believe we were able to snag such a perfect place for our September 2015 wedding and reception. We rented The Journey Home for 2 nights - creating a full wedding weekend. Cindy was absolutely wonderful to work with. She was so helpful in the planning process and connected us with great vendors. Having the house for all of our friends and family to gather the day before and morning of the wedding was such a perk. So much less stressful than having to drive to multiple venues. Not only that, but the home, grounds and barn are gorgeous! We barely decorated the barn for the reception and had a very simple ceremony outdoors - and both were stunning. Our guests gave so many compliments - people are still talking about it over a month later! I cannot recommend The Journey Home enough. I am trying to think of other reasons to work with them again! :)
The Journey Home
Wedding Ceremony/Reception
(October 15, 2015 at 10:19 PM)
5 Derek Boland
by

Derek

My wife and I were very happy with our decision to use The Journey Home as our ceremony and reception venue. It was perfect for our country rustic wedding. We really appreciated how helpful the staff was and our day went just as planned. I would not have changed anything! Choose The Journey Home for your event and you will not be disappointed!
The Journey Home
Ceremony/Reception Venue
(October 15, 2015 at 10:12 PM)
5 Nicole Boland
by

Nicole

The Journey Home exceeded our expectations! It is a beautiful venue for all wedding types and the staff is super friendly/easy to work with. I would recommend it to anyone and everyone!
The Journey Home
August 2015 Wedding
(October 14, 2015 at 11:02 PM)
4.8 Ashley Haas
by

Ashley

I truly don't even know where to begin when trying to describe how much I love and appreciate The Journey Home. My husband and I looked for weeks for venues in the Kansas City area, but the Journey Home was the first (and ONLY) venue we actually toured. We were completely blown away by Cindy's (the general manager) kindness and genuine concern for making our day as perfect as possible. There is not one single thing I could even think to complain about when it comes to our wedding venue. Every vendor suggested to us by the Journey Home was incredibly professional and we were incredibly pleased. This venue truly is perfect. The fact that we had the venue all to ourselves for the entire weekend was so perfect and a dream come true. My exact thoughts when walking down the aisle on my wedding day and seeing the venue decorated for our wedding was, this is exactly what I always dreamt of. I cannot thank the staff at the Journey Home enough for making our special day a dream come true!!!
The Journey Home
Bride
(October 14, 2015 at 12:51 PM)
5 Emily Honeycutt
by

Emily

We had a wonderful experience at The Journey Home. We used all vendors recommended by The Journey Home and had an outstanding event. Our wedding day was perfect and it was all owed to The Journey Home.
The Journey Home
Perfect!
(April 28, 2015 at 11:48 PM)
5 Jenn H
by

Jenn

The Journey Home was a wonderful vendor to work with for such an important event. From the beginning Cindy was great to work with. At my first visit at the Journey Home I received a binder full of vendors for various aspects of the wedding. This was so useful to plan all the details. They do not require you to use vendors from the list, but I ended up finding most of ours from the binder. We rented the house the day prior to the wedding so the bridal party could stay overnight and get ready at the location. We also held our rehearsal at the Journey Home as well. I could not have asked for a more beautiful location or helpful staff! The forecast called for rain all day so we held our ceremony and reception both in the barn and it was still flawless. I cannot express how happy I am with my decision to work with the Journey Home. All the guests loved the location and we also received compliments from friends of those who attended saying it was the most beautiful wedding.
The Journey Home
Fantastic
(October 28, 2014 at 9:00 PM)
5 Hannah Squire
by

Hannah

Having my sisters wedding at the journey home was both fun and exciting. The venue was elegant and had enough space for both the bride and grooms large family's. It made the wedding a very fun experience!
The Journey Home
My Wedding at The Journey Home
(October 28, 2014 at 4:58 PM)
5 Samantha Squire
by

Samantha

My Wedding was two weeks ago at The Journey Home. It is an absolutely gorgeous venue. I love the fact that we had the option of staying on site for the night of or even for the whole weekend. It helped our families out a lot when it was time to set everything up. It was also very special that our wedding party and close family members were able to relax the night before at the home. The barn is amazing for a reception and we had many compliments the entire night. Their are several places to take many different pictures as well. The staff was very kind and always willing to help when needed. I would recommend The Journey Home to any bride looking for a wonderful venue!
The Journey Home
Photo Ops Galore!
(October 28, 2014 at 11:12 AM)
5 Cheryl Straight
by

Cheryl

I had the pleasure of taking photos for a wedding and reception at The Journey Home this summer. It is gorgeous! I loved every minute of it! The opportunities for photographers are endless. The reception was held in the tobacco barn, with it's classic, rustic backdrop layered with white table linens, and burlap. The historic 1800's home that accompanies the property rental is a dream with an original winding staircase inside, and white columns that grace the front of this grand home. I loved every minute of it! I hope I am able to work there again and again!
The Journey Home
Gorgeous Venue
(October 27, 2014 at 12:07 AM)
4.6 Jessica Upson
by

Jessica

The Journey Home was a beautiful place to have our wedding. We had our rehearsal dinner Friday night, set up and stayed the night at the house. The next day, we got ready there and had our ceremony outside under a tree and our reception in the beautiful barn. They were very accommodating and helpful the weekend of the wedding. We had some difficulty renting tables and chairs, but overall they were easy to work with. Value wise it would be nice if table and chair or other things were included. It seemed there was lots of extras we could add on to the bill if we wanted to use them. I would recommend them to a friend, but not if you aren't wanting to set up and take down your event. I liked being able to set up the way I wanted and we had wonderful family and friends to help.
The Journey Home
Beautiful Wedding
(September 18, 2014 at 10:55 AM)
5 Debbie Breckenridge
by

Debbie

The Journey Home is a beautiful place to have a wedding!! Not only are the grounds beautiful but the staff is top rated. Cindy the general manager is so helpful and has great ideas day. Our family experience was wonderfully even the little ones loved it. And what a great place to take pictures!!! I would highly recommend the Journey home for your wedding journey!!
The Journey Home
Beautiful location
(August 20, 2014 at 6:36 PM)
5 Kathy Pointer
by

Kathy

We started the wedding planning process with one director, and had to finish with another (Cindy) since Laura moved away. A little nervous, but there was no need to be. The staff was awesome, the entire wedding party spent the evening at the venue the night before and we had all day for set-up on Saturday. The day was perfect, wedding outside, then the reception in the incredible tobacco barn with crystal chandeliers. Even though the festivities were cut short with some horrible weather rolling in (tornado) we couldn't have asked for a better place for our daughter's wedding! Thank you!
The Journey Home
Great Wedding Venue
(August 19, 2014 at 12:25 PM)
5 Colin Marshall
by

Colin

TJH was an incredible place to get married! My wife and I can't speak highly enough about the property and the staff. They were very accommodating and worked to make sure that we had the wedding that we wanted. The historic house (1884) was a beautiful backdrop for our ceremony, and the tobacco barn was great for the reception. We had both families stay at the house the night before, which really helped us to become one family.
The Journey Home
Journey Home
(August 18, 2014 at 9:45 PM)
5 Megan Champion
by

Megan

I cannot say enough positive things about The Journey Home! We had a wonderful experience. Cindy was wonderful to work with and the property was beautiful! I would recommend this venue to anyone looking for the barn/rustic theme.
The Journey Home
Great Venue
(August 18, 2014 at 5:01 PM)
5 Baker Luck
by

Baker

My wife and I got married at The Journey Home on May 3 of this year. We had 200 guests, and the venue was a perfect size for us. We used the house to get ready, got married in the field between the house and barn, and had the reception in the barn. We each had an extremely large wedding party and still had tons of space to get ready; the house is huge. The property is very well maintained, and the pictures don't do it justice. We visited multiple barn venues around KC before selecting TJH including some of the more well known barns that are booked years in advance. None of them came even close to as pretty and well setup/spaced out as TJH. One thing that was a major positive for us is that you provide everything besides the property. You will need to hire and coordinate food vendors, event rentals, servers, bar tenders, florists, etc. They gave us a great reference guide where we found most of our sources, but you will need to do more leg work than you might at other venues. We loved this because we were able to get exactly what we wanted in regard to event rentals and food, and we were able to save thousands of dollars (literally). On the day of the event, Teresa and Cindy took complete care of getting each vendor where they needed to go and getting everything together. It was a perfect experience; I can't recommend the venue or the staff any higher.
The Journey Home
The Best!
(August 18, 2014 at 11:25 AM)
5 Jonathan Russell
by

Jonathan

Will not go wrong with this venue. Management is friendly, helpful and dedicated to making your wedding beautiful. Price is the best in town (especially if you make it a weekend getaway for the wedding party. The colonial house is HUGE and luxurious) Barn can be used for both the wedding and the reception and looked absolutely amazing for us. I have no complaint with The Journey Home and the people that manage it. They were awesome.
The Journey Home
Magazine Worthy Wedding
(August 18, 2014 at 10:35 AM)
5 Meredith Marshall
by

Meredith

My husband and I keep looking back at our pictures and we just can't believe how beautiful our wedding ended up being. Our wedding would not have been this aesthetically beautiful if it had not been for The Journey Home house, property, barn and employees. We would suggest The Journey Home to any Bride/Groom looking for a venue. The property, barn, and house was very well kept and clean. They really went the extra mile to make our day special. Great venue for anyone with out of town family and/or bridal party. The ability to stay at the house made it really special and truly two families coming together.
The Journey Home
perfect wedding venue
(August 17, 2014 at 7:06 PM)
5 Lisa Gallagher
by

Lisa

I couldn't have asked for a more spectacular venue for our wedding. We booked the venue for the entire weekend which gave us flexibility to setup on Friday and tear down on Sunday. Also allowed for family dinner Friday night, family breakfast Sunday morning and for some guests to spend the night. The entire property is so beautiful. Cindy made us feel like we were part of her family. I never wanted to leave, it is like getting married in your home. We wanted casual yet elegant and it certainly was. I would highly recommend this venue.
The Journey Home
Wonderful Wedding Venue
(September 8, 2013 at 10:44 AM)
5 Pam D.
by

Pam

My daughter's wedding was held at Journey Home Aug. 31. We could not have been more pleased with the venue. We arrived on Friday and left on Sunday; the house provided sleeping space for all of the wedding party and family. Each of the rooms was beautifully furnished with plenty of towels for everyone. The kitchen has two ovens and two refrigerators so I was able to provide both the rehearsal dinner and the morning after brunch with not problems. The kitchen is completely furnished. The weather was very warm. I had rented 4 large fans for the barn but the venue provided 4 more. Laura, the manager, helped with all set up and tear down. She was able to provide everything we needed. The wedding was held in the front lawn of the house with the reception in the tobacco barn. Journey Home allowed us to have table and chairs delivered the day before the ceremony and picked up the day after. And by contracting for these items through the venue I received a significant discount. I am absolutely nothing negative to say about Journey Home and Laura Leibman. The venue provided the perfect place for a fairy tale wedding for my daughter and son-in-law.
The Journey Home
Our Dreams Came True!!
(July 1, 2013 at 12:10 AM)
5 Emily Stevens
by

Emily

Brian and I hosted our wedding and reception at The Journey Home it was amazing. From the moment we met Laura, she made us feel like we were part of her family. No matter what we needed Laura made it happen. She gave recommendations on vendors, ideas on different things and even was the officiant for our ceremony. She went above and beyond all our expectations. She helped make our dreams come true. The venue it self is beautiful. We used their house for the rehearsal and a few of us stayed overnight, They have really made the house feel as if we were in our own homes which was nice. It was great to unwind from all the planning and get ready for the big day. Our ceremony was in the field between the house and the barn. The grounds were perfect and our pictures are beautiful. Then for the reception we moved to the barn. We easily had almost 200 guest inside with plenty of room of a large dance floor, catering, a bar and DJ. I cant say enough about The Journey Home. You will not be disappointed. The venue is amazing and Laura is the greatest person to work with! 5 stars is not a high enough rating for how happy we were with them.
The Journey Home
The Journey Home was absolutely amazing - June 7, 2013
(June 19, 2013 at 8:28 PM)
5 Kathryn Bedsworth
by

Kathryn

The Journey Home was absolutely amazing and totally worth the money! From the start, the vendor was very helpful and great to work with. The venue itself is so beautiful! The barn was perfect for our reception and we were even able to fit all 260 people comfortably, with only having to place an extension tent on the back for the food. Our guests kept complementing on the beauty of the venue and even our photographer was impressed with how great the venue was. I was very pleased with how everything turned out and can honestly say I wouldn't change a thing about it!:)
The Journey Home
Friend's Wedding
(June 17, 2013 at 8:40 PM)
5 Melissa Last Name
by

Melissa

The grounds were beautiful and the house is great for the wedding party to prepare for the walk down the isle. The rustic feel and charm of the barn really added that special feel to the reception afterwards. I would recommend this to family and friends that are on a tight budget.
The Journey Home
Robertson Wedding- June 8, 2013
(June 17, 2013 at 6:12 PM)
5 Chiffany Robertson
by

Chiffany

My husband and I were married at The Journey Home on Saturday, June 8, 2013 and it was everything him and i had hoped for and dreamed of! It was aboslutely amazing! The Journey Home is the venue to hold your wedding due to it's beautiful surroundings and the manager, Laura, is so easy to work with and is very quick to respond to any questions/issues you may have!! When my husband and I first started planning our wedding we orignally had booked another venue that kind of fell thru. We stumbled across The Journey Home and fell in LOVE with it! We are now thankful everything worked out the way it did :) I don't have one bad or negative thing to say about The Journey Home. It has everything to offer and with Laura there to help every step of the way and make sure all goes smoothly is an added bonus :) she's super sweet and so helpful. and when the bride gets stressed out over something, she's always there with her calming words and warming smile. A person can't go wrong booking this as their wedding venue because it truly has everything to offer!!
The Journey Home
4 Generations come together
(March 3, 2013 at 1:06 PM)
5 Cindy Chase
by

Cindy

Neiber (women) 4 generation family. 17 of us came from Missouri, Iowa, Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin, and Minnesota. We loved your home, cooked in the kitchen, explored the property, swang on the bridal swing, had devotions and prayer time in the living room with a fire. Thank you for providing us with a beautiful home.
The Journey Home
Retreat
(February 12, 2013 at 1:40 PM)
5 Vicki Meek
by

Vicki

Thank you for providing a lovely setting for our day-long retreat. The home is lovely and Laura was extremely accomodating in providing the needed preparation and set-up. The home is lovely and provided a warm and welcoming environment for everyone. I received nothing but positive comments from those who attended. We are hoping to return in the spring to enjoy the porch and the lovely outdoor surroundings.
The Journey Home
WOW
(February 8, 2013 at 10:28 PM)
5 Scott Swartzentruber
by

Scott

From the beginning, Laura responded promptly to all of our questions and changes. Words cannot describe what an amazing experience we had once we arrived. Very clean, spacious, and they really have thought of EVERYTHING you could possibly need. All the beds, furniture, and decor were elegant, tasteful, and comfortable, We had 5 families staying there for a wedding in Kansas City, and had the rehersal dinner of over 50 people at the house. The kitchen was SPACIOUS and well stocked... Very comfortable and accomadating. On a scale of 1 to 10, this is a 10.5. I cannot thank you enough for making such a memorable time for our family and friends..
The Journey Home
An escape from the city without driving too far.
(January 27, 2013 at 7:04 PM)
5 Able Hands Interpreting Services
by

Able Hands

Journey Home was a great location for our company retreat. An escape from the city without driving too far. The home's layout, with multiple rooms available for breakout sessions, was just what we needed. The food prepared by our hosts was fabulous! The dessert....YUM!!! We highly recommend this location and will be planning future events! Thank you Journey Home for your hospitality.
The Journey Home
Super Clean and Super Spacious
(January 26, 2013 at 1:19 PM)
5 Rebecca E.
by

Rebecca

The home is gorgeous, spotless, and very roomy. The pictures on their website don't do the property justice. Usually it's the other way around, but this property is so much more brilliant in-person. A must see! It was super simple to make reservations. Plus, you get sooo much included with the rental price including all linens, general cleaning & toiletries, and dishes that serve 25. All included! An amazing escape from the typical rental where you have to bring all that stuff with you. The 2 fireplaces warmed the entire downstairs and kept the house warm and cozy. My family loved it. We had 4 children and 6 adults stay overnight, plus over 50 people total during the daytime on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. A great place for large family gatherings with books, magazines, and games furnished as well! We will definitely go back for future family retreats. We had people 80 people at our event, and 23 overnight guests, age 55+, adults, teenagers, and young children
The Journey Home
Cousin Reunion
(January 26, 2013 at 1:15 PM)
5 Harmony M.
by

Harmony

This was a great house for our group. We had 14 adults and 12 kids. There was room for everyone. The kitchen was well stocked with cooking supplies and the sitting and eating areas were large enough. Recommended for:Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.