LOGIN
The Sanctuary on Penn

The Sanctuary on Penn

Visit Us On:
Indianapolis, IN

The Sanctuary on Penn

4.4
out of 5.0

Quality of Service

4.4

Responsiveness

4.2

Professionalism

4.3

Value

4.5

Flexibility

4.6
The Sanctuary on Penn
The Sanctuary on Penn
(August 20, 2018 at 5:37 PM)
5 Caitee H
by

Caitee

My husband and I got married at The Sanctuary on Penn this past Saturday. It really was a fairytale. I don't have the right words to describe just how amazing everything about this venue and the staff are! The Sanctuary is masculine and feminine all at the same time, and the stained glass is exactly what I dreamed of since I was a little girl. I cannot thank Scott and Evan and their team enough for making our wedding day run smoothly, and for always checking in to make sure we were okay and had everything we needed. Scott is the best guy to have there on such a big day, because trust me, he has the answers! I am still on a high thinking back on how wonderful and beautiful our wedding day was. Thank you, thank you, thank you Scott and Evan! 10/10 would recommend!
The Sanctuary on Penn
Wonderful!
(July 12, 2018 at 4:02 PM)
5 Becca Z
by

Becca

My partner Aaron and I got married on May 13, 2017. Working with Scott and Marcia was an absolute dream for our wedding. Scott owns and operates The Sanctuary on Penn, and is a kind, gentle spirit with a task master attitude. Scott's compassion for people and sound moral compass attracts kind hearted, hard working individuals. Every interaction we had with an employee or recommended vendors was incredible. We felt as if we had an extension of our family helping us along the way. We can only hope to work with them again in the future!
The Sanctuary on Penn
A Magical Feeling
(February 25, 2018 at 11:46 AM)
5 Kevin Cencula
by

Kevin

My wife Amanda and I were married at the Sanctuary on September 23rd of this year. The morning after, I couldn't help but think how magical the night before had been. Surely, I must wait some time for that magical feeling to fade, before writing a proper review. Now, exactly one month later, that magical feeling remains. Everything about the venue -- the ambiance, the amenities, the service -- is still as magical in my heart and mind as it was that evening, and the days that followed. Let me start with Scott, the owner and wedding planner. When he first gave us a tour of the place, we were struck with its historic charm and beauty. Initially, we were a little unsure of him. We liked the guy, sure, but how much of his tour was just an act to get us to sign on, versus a genuine enthusiasm for his job, and genuine care and concern for the bride & groom? Well, turns out Scott is exactly who he made himself out to be -- a great wedding planner, an incredible day-of coordinator, and a man who cares very deeply about the experience that the bride and groom have. In the months leading up to our wedding, Scott and Marcia (his assistant) weaved us through all the intricacies of the day with the grace and precision of an Olympic figure skater. What might have been a complicated process turned out to be fairly simple. The Sanctuary comes with their set of preferred vendors, and each one of them hit the mark! Post Road English Garden for flowers? Elegant to a fault, down to the petals lining the aisle. Heavenly Sweets for cake? Multiple guests told us it was the best cake they've ever had! DJ Don Masters for entertainment? He knew how to get people out on the dance floor, and keep 'em there. Since the Sanctuary's preferred photographer had a conflict, we went with our own -- the incomparable Nate Crouch, who supplied us with beautiful memories to last a lifetime. Needless to say, the wedding day went off without a hitch. It was even better than we pictured it in our wildest dreams. Oh sure, there were minor problems. But when there were? Scott was there to solve them. Batteries in the Wii controller die? Scott is there 30 seconds later with some spare batteries. Bride wants a stick of gum? Scott is there, and he doesn't have gum, but will mints do?? Every interaction we've had with Scott -- before, during, and after our wedding day -- has been a complete affirmation that we made the right decision to go with him, and the Sanctuary, for the big day.
The Sanctuary on Penn
Do NOT book here
(August 30, 2015 at 12:57 AM)
1 Sarah Lees
by

Sarah

We got married here a few months ago an had a great day, all due to the extra work Lorie put in. I am sad to hear that Scott fired her for personal reasons at the beginning of July. She is what made that place tick. We had heard dicey things about going through their vendors, especially their photography, but we couldn't pass up such a good deal!! 5 months later, we still do not have even a preview of our photos. We get excuse after excuse and it has been a nightmare even getting in contact with anyone or a phone call returned. If Lorie was still there I would recommend this place, but without her, I cannot. I am also sad to hear that the building is being prepped to be sold in the next two years or so. My only hope is that is stays a wedding hall and not turned into condos!!
The Sanctuary on Penn
A hot mess
(August 7, 2015 at 12:32 PM)
5 Kelly Anne
by

Kelly

They wouldnt give me the time of day when I tried to speak with him about our issues.. It was +90 degrees inside on our wedding day. Beers were still warm during cocktail hour. Toilets overflowed. There was no parking attendant as promised. My family also had to break down tables because there wasn't enough staff. (We found out later 2 staff members just didn't show up that day.) Glasses given to guests were dirty. Flip flops and chopsticks for reception weren't put out during the transition of the room. I, the bride, had to set them out on a table during the reception. They cracked the frame for our guestbook because they just propped it up against a wall for guests to sign and forgot to put out the pens I purchased for it. The speakers were crackling all night and sounded terrible! I have no desire to be in contact ever again. I gave them the chance to make it right and I was ignored. Very unhappy.
The Sanctuary on Penn
Love at The Sanctuary
(October 25, 2014 at 12:54 PM)
5 Izzy Martin
by

Izzy

We just got married here last weekend. I couldn't have asked for a better day. It went off without a hitch thanks to the sanctuary team!! Thank you guys so much. There is so much going on behind the scenes that they do to run interference and to make sure everything is going smooth. They really went above and beyond for us. The way the flip the space and run everything is like a well-oiled machine. We booked with them late last year and the process was nice. We would come in and meet with them one every two months or so and go over their planning document. It really helps to keep you organized. I highly recommend this place. It's not a chain, its family run, and they really care about you. You're not just a number to them. It's what I loved the most. Well, that and the food. They have an in house chef that will blow you away. They don't have preset menus; you literally sit down with them and the chef and create your wedding meal from scratch!! They were telling me about one couple that had cream cheese stuffed dates wrapped in bacon. I am a total foodie and the process is really fun!! I want to personally thank every single person at The Sanctuary on Penn for making my day so special. Love, Alex & Izzy
The Sanctuary on Penn
Perfect Wedding
(July 10, 2014 at 6:36 AM)
5 Melissa Johnson
by

Melissa

I can honestly say I had the perfect wedding at the Sanctuary! My husband and I chose the venue because of the beautiful building that is full of character and charm, but through the process we also came to love Lori the coordinator! She is so genuine and caring. She remembers details and truly wants your day to be perfect. The food was absolutely delicious and there was plenty for all of my guests. I would definitely recommend the Sanctuary for other brides looking for a meaningful experience and amazing wedding!
The Sanctuary on Penn
Review Title
(April 10, 2014 at 8:22 PM)
5 Rachel Armes
by

Rachel

I just got married here last weekend, though there were some rocky points, everything went off perfectly the night of. After i booked here I read some of these bad reviews and was really nervous. I talked to Scott and the coordinator, and they assured me that everything would be fine. I guess the first year they were still learning and finding what works. I get that. The negative is always heard over the positive. I was given references of brides that had been married here and they all spoke highly. My day couldn't have gone any better. The wedding coordinator and owner were amazing, as were the staff. The food was the best wedding food our guests had ever had. Everything ran smooth. I am writing this because I am so grateful for a wonderful day. I highly recommended The Sanctuary. They will do anything they can to make your day great.
The Sanctuary on Penn
Perfect wedding
(February 12, 2014 at 11:24 AM)
5 Dawn ella
by

Dawn

Comments The Sanctuary on Penn is SOO beautiful, more beautiful in person. I am taking the time to write this because I am so grateful to them for making my day so personal and special. - The staff was great. When I had problems/questions, I would always receive help in a timely manner. Whenever I stopped in, even without appointments, everyone was more than helpful. - I know there was a wedding the night before, and I was really impressed how great the venue looked that morning when I arrived. The wedding coordinator, Lori, was there to greet us in the morning and went over things with me that she had questions about and fixed things that I saw that I didn't like. - In between the ceremony and the reception, the changing of the rooms was amazing! My mom and dad had me go in and look to make sure everything was alright before we let guests in and the tables and arrangements looked like a whole new place! - I had discussed with Scott, the owner, my concerns that I had heard from a previous bride, and for the most part I was very happy about all those being addressed. I felt that if a problem/concern arose the day of if I said something to Scott or Lori, the wedding coordinator, it was taken care of. .- The food!!! The food was AMAZING and we have received many compliments on the dinner!!! - Brian and the other bartenders were AMAZING. There was never a line and they were in a great mood all night. The owner and coordinator just seemed to pop out of nowhere throughout the day and ask what they could do to help. -The building was perfect for what I was looking for. I didn't want to be in a banquet hall or have the same old boring venue. This place is over a century old and was getting ready to be either turned into condos, or was facing a wrecking ball. The owner saw potential in it and brought the place back to life. It still looks old, original stained glass, mostly original floor, the downstairs bar used to be the old communion rails! It's distinguished. Everything ran very smooth, and they helped us stay calm on the day. They hooked us up with a very talented Guitarist and DJ- everything is a-la-cart here- you can choose to many, or few of their services, but they have it all available to you. I HIGHLY recommend it if you're looking for something nontraditional and off of the beaten path!
The Sanctuary on Penn
Of Stuffed Jalapenos & Tentacled Cakes
(January 14, 2014 at 3:19 PM)
4.4 Danielle Donnelly
by

Danielle

I had my wedding here in May of 2013. Overall, I found the staff to be nice, conscientious people. The venue is absolutely breathtaking, and I hardly had to decorate because it was that beautiful. Justin, their chef, is a fantastic cook, was trained in New Orleans, and makes a mean jambalaya. They have a very flexible menu, and we were able to play with whatever we wanted. However, this is a new venue, and they're still working out the kinks of wedding planning and managing that. They've changed staff members several times, and I was passed off from one person to another over a 1 year period. This was frustrating since not everyone transitioned very well. These issues were successfully resolved in the end. Otherwise, I'd give this venue an "Excellent" instead of a "Very Good".
The Sanctuary on Penn
A great time
(May 6, 2013 at 11:32 AM)
4.8 Alison Marvel
by

Alison

Everything was so fantastic! We loved the food, and I (the bride) didn't have to worry about a thing. The venue was gorgeous and I love the lighting. Marc and I will remember our special day for the rest of our lives! :-)
The Sanctuary on Penn
Wonderful experience!
(April 29, 2013 at 9:19 AM)
5 Lindsey Lazelle
by

Lindsey

Overall wonderful experience with The Sanctuary on Penn. The staff was very professional, accommodating, and went above and beyond. I can't recommend this venue enough! My wedding day was perfect!!!
The Sanctuary on Penn
Amazing wedding
(April 22, 2013 at 2:49 PM)
5 Kayla Webb
by

Kayla

What we said mattered most! We got everything done that we wanted. Couldn't have been happier!
The Sanctuary on Penn
Wedding at The Sanctuary on Penn
(April 8, 2013 at 3:28 AM)
5 Melissa McFall
by

Melissa

Thank you! We had a great time!
The Sanctuary on Penn
Wedding last night
(March 17, 2013 at 3:06 PM)
5 Sherri Lytle
by

Sherri

All went great! Thank you!!!
The Sanctuary on Penn
Our Experience
(February 25, 2013 at 7:26 PM)
2.4 Emily Caenepeel
by

Emily

We got married there in the fall of last year. The church-beautiful. The food-amazing. The best wedding chicken ever! Not even a little bit dry! Working with the people there, although extremely nice, was very frustrating. All inclusive means they offer it. It doesn't necessarily mean they have a reliable vendor lined up. My suggestion is to check it out with this in mind. They will walk you through the building maybe even go over the "dream sheet" with you but ultimately you are on your own. I would not use there "convenient" vendors because on top of the charge you pay for the service there is a tax (expected) and then a gratuity (not sure how this applies to flowers or stationary, food service maybe) that equals 22%. It is a percentage on the total, so the flat rate for the room is also charged a gratuity. Hmm...? Some of what I have read in other reviews is that they are hard to get a response from. We found this to be true in our case as well. In the time we booked with them (a year prior) they had hired and eventually lost a wedding planner. We never got an email about either occurrence. Even though we eventually met with said wedding planner we didn't know she left until I finally got so sick of not being answered by email or phone (a few short weeks before the wedding) that I physically went to the sanctuary to find out what the hell was going on. I can not say we were 100% happy with how our wedding went down but let's face it, no one ever knows but you. And OUR photographer managed to compensate The Sanctuary's short comings by getting the best of everyone and everything.
The Sanctuary on Penn
Beautiful!
(February 13, 2013 at 1:09 PM)
4.8 lINDSAY mILLER
by

lINDSAY

I just got married here last weekend, though there were some rocky points when planning, everything went off perfectly the night of. Jonna, the wedding planner, was amazing, as were the staff. The food was the best wedding food our guests had ever had! Great venue, I highly recommended! They will do anything they can to make your day great.
The Sanctuary on Penn
MUCH LOVE!!
(February 8, 2013 at 12:00 PM)
5 Chelsea Brian
by

Chelsea

Thank you to all staff/team members at The Sanctuary on Penn! Our wedding day was nothing short of perfect. I can't imagine a better place to have been married. Thank you for making us feel important and our day extraordinary. MUCH LOVE! -Chelsea & Brian
The Sanctuary on Penn
Dream wedding!
(December 18, 2012 at 4:44 PM)
5 Emily Cook
by

Emily

The Sanctuary on Penn is SOO beautiful, more beautiful in person than photos even. We got engaged only 2 months before our wedding, and the fantastic staff at the Sanctuary helped us plan our wedding; I know we could not have done this elsewhere. The food was AMAZING, the presentation was beautiful and just as we requested it. Everything ran very smooth, and helped us stay calm on the day. They hooked us up with a very talented Guitarist and DJ- everything is a-la-cart here- you can choose to many, or few of their services, but they have it all available to you. Highly recommend it!
The Sanctuary on Penn
Sanctuary on Penn was a Hit
(December 7, 2012 at 2:38 PM)
3.6 Alicia Erwin
by

Alicia

Gorgeous venue and everything on the wedding day went very well. Things leading up to the wedding felt somewhat unorganized, but it did all come together. Our guests were in awe at the beauty of the building and had a wonderful time at the reception! I would definitely recommend this venu.
The Sanctuary on Penn
Insanity at The Sanctuary on Penn
(September 4, 2012 at 4:50 PM)
1.6 Barbara Last Name
by

Barbara

If you like never getting returned phone calls and false promises(i.e. invites, save the dates) Since they say they are all inclusive. Then this is the place for you!! (Try wedding paper diva's they never let us down) Food great but if your are expecting a caterer, as we were told in the begining, & a few other times, then go elsewhere. But, then again thier "chef" likes to forget meetings and never return calls!! Hey what happened to the rest of our cake!! OOh that's right you never called back! We only paid $700 for it from an outside source. The cake was to feed 135 guests , we only had 65!! I guess we paid to feed the staff as well as our guests!! If you like the wedding corrdinator leaving the event early then once again this place is for you!! Constant non communications. Not even the so called "Operations Director" / Brandi can be polite or knows whats going on!!P.S. tell your DJ's to bring thier own equipment. During our grand entrance the speakers blow out!! Hey, thanks again Sanctuary on Penn for the unforgettable wedding memories!!!! Nice building but, that's all it has going for it!!!